ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out  (Read 7294 times)

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2636
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2017, 11:33:53 am »

Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev

Well it may be a zombie thread, but this is valuable new info for those still rocking these old beasts.  So thanks for the contribution!
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

noel kehoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2018, 02:06:59 am »


thank you for your post on the forum

i have a similar issue

2tr rca goes mono

main out xlr goes mono

but also monitor out goes mono

i have downloaded manual and taken the ada board out

i see there are 2 pcm1702u ic502 and ic503

do i need to replace both

i only ordered 1 so not sure whether to change both

your help would be greatly appreciated

kind regards noel
Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6962
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2018, 10:39:54 am »

thank you for your post on the forum

i have a similar issue

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
admin
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Posting Rules
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2018, 10:39:54 am »


Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.02 seconds with 18 queries.