ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out  (Read 7393 times)

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3513
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2017, 05:23:06 pm »

While unlikely, if the mixer had been used as a sub mixer to one with phantom power turned on, it is possible the outputs could be damaged. That said, I have done it by mistake with my Yamaha mixers with no damage but really awful sounds.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

John Ferreira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2017, 06:57:15 pm »

Oh and by the way even though there's no sound coming from the stereo outputs....There is still some activity thru the output meters when I play any type of playback sources.


1. Go to Set Up
2. Go to Monitor Out (that's the second tab)
3. Make sure Stereo Out is selected ( NOT Cascade In)
Logged
John Ferreira

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2017, 02:23:31 pm »

 
While unlikely, if the mixer had been used as a sub mixer to one with phantom power turned on, it is possible the outputs could be damaged. That said, I have done it by mistake with my Yamaha mixers with no damage but really awful sounds.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

 :'( I hope not
Logged

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2017, 02:30:03 pm »


1. Go to Set Up
2. Go to Monitor Out (that's the second tab)
3. Make sure Stereo Out is selected ( NOT Cascade In)

Hey guys I'm back on the board. I check the monitor setup section. Stereo Out is selected. The next thing I did was on the OMNI OUT SELECT tab of the routing page I set ST OUT L/R To Omni out 1&2 temporarily  and there's Sound thru the st out routing to the Omni out....Its just not coming thru to the XLR St out and 2TR RCA out.
Logged

Stu McDoniel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
  • Central Wisconsin...USA
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2017, 06:48:53 pm »

Hey guys I'm back on the board. I check the monitor setup section. Stereo Out is selected. The next thing I did was on the OMNI OUT SELECT tab of the routing page I set ST OUT L/R To Omni out 1&2 temporarily  and there's Sound thru the st out routing to the Omni out....Its just not coming thru to the XLR St out and 2TR RCA out.
I have an O1V and I have done the internal ground fix (only if the unit randomly reboots out of no where) do the fix.
Simply do a factory reset on the unit.  It is all over the internet on the "how to" and the manual is available.
It is possible the unit has a failure because of the age.
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2017, 03:34:00 pm »

Hi, did you ever solve your issue? I have a similar problem but only my RIGHT output has failed. Main Outputs and RCA Phonos. There were a few pops and clicks before there was slience from the right hand side. I'm assuming it is a component fail due to age so will open her up in the next week to have a look at the output circuits. Monitor outs are fine as well as the headphone output.
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6974
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2017, 04:09:45 pm »

Hi, did you ever solve your issue?

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Posting Rules
« Reply #17 on: November 26, 2017, 04:30:34 pm »

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac

Apologies. Done.
Logged

richard_cooper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #18 on: November 26, 2017, 05:27:36 pm »

Ooops Zombie thread, never mind!
« Last Edit: November 26, 2017, 05:29:52 pm by richard_cooper »
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2017, 05:46:58 am »

Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2017, 05:46:58 am »


Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.065 seconds with 22 queries.