ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out  (Read 7294 times)

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« on: March 04, 2017, 01:02:02 pm »

Hey guys I need help here I have a Yamaha 01v I used for a gig last night. I notice there wasn't no sound coming out but a slight hum from the 2 outputs I taught it was bad cables but here I am today using different cables and still the same issue. Just got it back from an old friend Friday because I actually got time to get it back. Before I give it to him the outputs were working fine but now only a slight hum coming out when I play any source through it. The Omni out and monitors out working fine. Yes I know the board is old but I need it until I got my X32 system in the future so I could use this the board for small gigs. Can you guys help me out please??? Thanks.
Logged

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2017, 01:19:24 pm »

Hey guys I need help here I have a Yamaha 01v I used for a gig last night. I notice there wasn't no sound coming out but a slight hum from the 2 outputs I taught it was bad cables but here I am today using different cables and still the same issue. Just got it back from an old friend Friday because I actually got time to get it back. Before I give it to him the outputs were working fine but now only a slight hum coming out when I play any source through it. The Omni out and monitors out working fine. Yes I know the board is old but I need it until I got my X32 system in the future so I could use this the board for small gigs. Can you guys help me out please??? Thanks.
Logged

Ned Ward

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1429
  • Redondo Beach, CA
    • Our band's page on Facebook
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2017, 01:48:50 pm »

Bernard -

I had one of these for many years and it served me well.

If you don't have it, download the manual here:
http://download.yamaha.com/api/asset/file/?language=hu&site=hu.yamaha.com&asset_id=4146

Resetting the mixer may help. There was a ground issue that may be causing it. You can reset your 01v to ensure it's not a software issue first:

To erase all memories in the desk,and return it to its factory settings,hold the SCENE MEMORY [STORE] switch while turning on the power, and choose the INITIALIZE option.

If that doesn't fix it, you may need to go to a qualified service center. I had mine serviced at Advanced Musical Electronics in Venice, CA.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21878
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2017, 02:05:07 pm »

Hey guys I need help here I have a Yamaha 01v I used for a gig last night. I notice there wasn't no sound coming out but a slight hum from the 2 outputs I taught it was bad cables but here I am today using different cables and still the same issue. Just got it back from an old friend Friday because I actually got time to get it back. Before I give it to him the outputs were working fine but now only a slight hum coming out when I play any source through it. The Omni out and monitors out working fine. Yes I know the board is old but I need it until I got my X32 system in the future so I could use this the board for small gigs. Can you guys help me out please??? Thanks.

I suspect that the main L/R has been unpatched in a menu somewhere.

All parameters are default-recalled so if you have a scene saved to console memory I suggest you load that and see if the behavior changes.

If that doesn't work, download the manual as Ned suggests and go to the PAN/ROUTING menu to verify that a signal is assigned to the Stereo L/R outputs.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2017, 02:31:47 pm »

Bernard -

I had one of these for many years and it served me well.

If you don't have it, download the manual here:
http://download.yamaha.com/api/asset/file/?language=hu&site=hu.yamaha.com&asset_id=4146

Resetting the mixer may help. There was a ground issue that may be causing it. You can reset your 01v to ensure it's not a software issue first:

To erase all memories in the desk,and return it to its factory settings,hold the SCENE MEMORY [STORE] switch while turning on the power, and choose the INITIALIZE option.

If that doesn't fix it, you may need to go to a qualified service center. I had mine serviced at Advanced Musical Electronics in Venice, CA.

I reset the board but the issue still there.
Logged

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2017, 02:34:02 pm »

I suspect that the main L/R has been unpatched in a menu somewhere.

All parameters are default-recalled so if you have a scene saved to console memory I suggest you load that and see if the behavior changes.

If that doesn't work, download the manual as Ned suggests and go to the PAN/ROUTING menu to verify that a signal is assigned to the Stereo L/R outputs.

I checked the routing on the board all the channels are set to the Stereo outs. I even checked to see if the pink noise/sine wave on the board could come thru the outs.....Still no sound
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21878
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2017, 03:32:48 pm »

I checked the routing on the board all the channels are set to the Stereo outs. I even checked to see if the pink noise/sine wave on the board could come thru the outs.....Still no sound

Bernard, I wasn't clear before.  I believe it is the MAIN L and MAIN R have been 'un-assigned' from the physical output section.  Check the OUTPUTS tab in the PAN/ROUTING menu.  I'll try to get in front of my old 01v and confirm what things should look like ;)
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2017, 04:03:34 pm »

Bernard, I wasn't clear before.  I believe it is the MAIN L and MAIN R have been 'un-assigned' from the physical output section.  Check the OUTPUTS tab in the PAN/ROUTING menu.  I'll try to get in front of my old 01v and confirm what things should look like ;)

Ok cool.   8) I'm not at the board right now but I'll check it later.
Logged

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2017, 04:05:56 pm »

I suspect that the main L/R has been unpatched in a menu somewhere.

All parameters are default-recalled so if you have a scene saved to console memory I suggest you load that and see if the behavior changes.

If that doesn't work, download the manual as Ned suggests and go to the PAN/ROUTING menu to verify that a signal is assigned to the Stereo L/R outputs.

Oh and by the way even though there's no sound coming from the stereo outputs....There is still some activity thru the output meters when I play any type of playback sources.
Logged

Jay Barracato

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2025
  • Solomons, MD
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2017, 05:08:25 pm »

After having a different user, the first thing I would check is the routing to make sure you are sending something to those outputs.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Logged
Jay Barracato

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3513
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2017, 05:23:06 pm »

While unlikely, if the mixer had been used as a sub mixer to one with phantom power turned on, it is possible the outputs could be damaged. That said, I have done it by mistake with my Yamaha mixers with no damage but really awful sounds.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

John Ferreira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2017, 06:57:15 pm »

Oh and by the way even though there's no sound coming from the stereo outputs....There is still some activity thru the output meters when I play any type of playback sources.


1. Go to Set Up
2. Go to Monitor Out (that's the second tab)
3. Make sure Stereo Out is selected ( NOT Cascade In)
Logged
John Ferreira

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2017, 02:23:31 pm »

 
While unlikely, if the mixer had been used as a sub mixer to one with phantom power turned on, it is possible the outputs could be damaged. That said, I have done it by mistake with my Yamaha mixers with no damage but really awful sounds.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

 :'( I hope not
Logged

Bernard Fernand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2017, 02:30:03 pm »


1. Go to Set Up
2. Go to Monitor Out (that's the second tab)
3. Make sure Stereo Out is selected ( NOT Cascade In)

Hey guys I'm back on the board. I check the monitor setup section. Stereo Out is selected. The next thing I did was on the OMNI OUT SELECT tab of the routing page I set ST OUT L/R To Omni out 1&2 temporarily  and there's Sound thru the st out routing to the Omni out....Its just not coming thru to the XLR St out and 2TR RCA out.
Logged

Stu McDoniel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
  • Central Wisconsin...USA
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2017, 06:48:53 pm »

Hey guys I'm back on the board. I check the monitor setup section. Stereo Out is selected. The next thing I did was on the OMNI OUT SELECT tab of the routing page I set ST OUT L/R To Omni out 1&2 temporarily  and there's Sound thru the st out routing to the Omni out....Its just not coming thru to the XLR St out and 2TR RCA out.
I have an O1V and I have done the internal ground fix (only if the unit randomly reboots out of no where) do the fix.
Simply do a factory reset on the unit.  It is all over the internet on the "how to" and the manual is available.
It is possible the unit has a failure because of the age.
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2017, 03:34:00 pm »

Hi, did you ever solve your issue? I have a similar problem but only my RIGHT output has failed. Main Outputs and RCA Phonos. There were a few pops and clicks before there was slience from the right hand side. I'm assuming it is a component fail due to age so will open her up in the next week to have a look at the output circuits. Monitor outs are fine as well as the headphone output.
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6962
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2017, 04:09:45 pm »

Hi, did you ever solve your issue?

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Posting Rules
« Reply #17 on: November 26, 2017, 04:30:34 pm »

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac

Apologies. Done.
Logged

richard_cooper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: Yamaha 01V: No sound from Stereo XLR Out and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #18 on: November 26, 2017, 05:27:36 pm »

Ooops Zombie thread, never mind!
« Last Edit: November 26, 2017, 05:29:52 pm by richard_cooper »
Logged

Kevin Wright 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2017, 05:46:58 am »

Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2636
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2017, 11:33:53 am »

Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev

Well it may be a zombie thread, but this is valuable new info for those still rocking these old beasts.  So thanks for the contribution!
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

noel kehoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Yamaha 01V No sound from Stereo XLR Put and 2TR RCA Out
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2018, 02:06:59 am »


thank you for your post on the forum

i have a similar issue

2tr rca goes mono

main out xlr goes mono

but also monitor out goes mono

i have downloaded manual and taken the ada board out

i see there are 2 pcm1702u ic502 and ic503

do i need to replace both

i only ordered 1 so not sure whether to change both

your help would be greatly appreciated

kind regards noel
Problem now solved.
It appears that some Yamaha DAC chips can cause issues. I stripped the unit down and removed the board containing the DAC. The chip is a BB PCM1702U.
Ordered a new one, removed old, soldered replacement in its place and put it all back together.
Both output channels now working again.
Total cost of 15. Would have been cheaper to order the chip from overseas but I wasn't prepared to wait weeks. They are not easy to find (for the original BB chip).
It seems that Yamaha Clavinovas suffer from this lost output problem and replacing this chip is the answer.
A factory reset is needed following replacement of this chip.

Hope this helps anyone else with similar issues.

Kev
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6962
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2018, 10:39:54 am »

thank you for your post on the forum

i have a similar issue

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
admin
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Posting Rules
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2018, 10:39:54 am »


Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.029 seconds with 17 queries.