ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Passive speakers set up. Merged  (Read 10400 times)

Charlie McKellips

Passive speakers set up. Merged
« on: January 14, 2017, 01:11:12 PM »

I'm contemplating switching to passive speakers so I don't have to run as much extension cord. I've been running powered speakers for the last 5 years, at outdoor venues with 300 to 3000 people.

I'm thinking about going to a passive set up, I'd like to run 6 to 8 speakers, 15" and the ones I'm looking at ate 400 rms, so my question is how many and how big of amps do I need for that? And how does a person hook them up? Thanks,

Charlie.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 04:58:52 PM by Mac Kerr »

Will Knight

• Queens, NY
Re: Passive speakers set up.
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 01:18:28 PM »

I'm contemplating switching to passive speakers so I don't have to run as much extension cord. I've been running powered speakers for the last 5 years, at outdoor venues with 300 to 3000 people.

I'm thinking about going to a passive set up, I'd like to run 6 to 8 speakers, 15" and the ones I'm looking at ate 400 rms, so my question is how many and how big of amps do I need for that? And how does a person hook them up? Thanks,

Charlie.

Charlie,
Welcome to the PSW Forum but before you can get any assistance, you will need to change your Display Name to your Real Name as described in the rules when you initially registered.  And do it quickly or your post will be locked by the Mods
Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value — Albert Einstein.

Charlie McKellips

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2017, 01:32:08 PM »

Ok, I'm new to these forums, I'll try to figure out how to change it.

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2017, 03:27:41 PM »

Charlie.