ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?  (Read 4473 times)

Milt Hathaway

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2191
    • http://www.fitzcosound.com
Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« on: December 21, 2016, 07:03:17 am »

So, I've got this disaster of an install that I've been contracted to finish/troubleshoot/redesign, and during installation the Original Installation Contractor (OIC for short) properly locked all of the sixteen PM8500 amps they installed. Thirteen of them will unlock with the proper 5-digit code as provided by the OIC (after threats of a lawsuit). I was able to unlock the fourteen amp by trying various typo'd versions of the code. However, there are still two that cannot be unlocked by any code version I enter.

Is there a hard reset available on these amps? I'd rather not send them on a round-trip to Bose just so someone there can spend 27 seconds clearing the amp's brain.

I have all of the data I need to reset the processing in these amps from scratch once they are cleared. I also have no problem pulling an amp out of the rack to get to whatever internal needs to be pulled/jumpered/whatever in order to completely reset it's brain.

Please PM the info to me as I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who don't need to know how to do this.

Thanks.
Logged
--
Milt
FitzCo Sound, Inc.
Midland, TX
http://www.fitzcosound.com

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8968
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2016, 08:24:33 am »

So, I've got this disaster of an install that I've been contracted to finish/troubleshoot/redesign, and during installation the Original Installation Contractor (OIC for short) properly locked all of the sixteen PM8500 amps they installed. Thirteen of them will unlock with the proper 5-digit code as provided by the OIC (after threats of a lawsuit). I was able to unlock the fourteen amp by trying various typo'd versions of the code. However, there are still two that cannot be unlocked by any code version I enter.

Is there a hard reset available on these amps? I'd rather not send them on a round-trip to Bose just so someone there can spend 27 seconds clearing the amp's brain.

I have all of the data I need to reset the processing in these amps from scratch once they are cleared. I also have no problem pulling an amp out of the rack to get to whatever internal needs to be pulled/jumpered/whatever in order to completely reset it's brain.

Please PM the info to me as I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who don't need to know how to do this.

Thanks.
[/quote
I will get an answer for you soon.  "I know a guy"  ;) ;) ;)
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8968
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2016, 09:08:33 am »

PM sent.

Hopefully it helps.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Mike Sokol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3358
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2016, 10:30:47 am »

PM sent.

Hopefully it helps.

Ivan, so you know the recipe for McDonald's "secret sauce" as well? How about KFC's secret blend of herbs and spices?  ;D
Logged
Mike Sokol
mike@noshockzone.org
www.NoShockZone.org

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8968
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2016, 04:32:20 pm »

Ivan, so you know the recipe for McDonald's "secret sauce" as well? How about KFC's secret blend of herbs and spices?  ;D
The formula for Coke is 2 parts of x, 1 part y and a sprinkle of z.

I have a friend who is a product specialist with Bose and and has been there many years.  We love to kid each other.  It is a small world.

I have friends who work for other speaker manufacturers as well.  We get along just fine and understand where we are and the positions we fill.

It is a small world.  If you can help somebody else out, they why not.

Believe me, I have been in the shoes of needing some help and questions answered.

The more we all can help each other, the better we all will be.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20994
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2016, 07:56:35 pm »

Ivan, so you know the recipe for McDonald's "secret sauce" as well? How about KFC's secret blend of herbs and spices?  ;D

Harlan Sander's original recipe has been on public display (hiding in plain sight) in a museum, for something like 20 years.

The "secret sauce" at Clownburger is just thousand island salad dressing with some ingredient proportions tweaked.

If you think audio is a cut throat industry, try sauces, flavorings and scents.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Giacomo Gala

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2019, 07:31:09 am »

Hello everybody  ;D
Unfortunately I have to wake up this old post because I'm having the same problem with the same amps!
Two PM8250 locked by an IT company that won't give the unlock code to the customer that asked me to solve a problem (the amp goes in standby mode cause the low volume used in the room).

Can you help me? Unfortunately I don't sell and install Bose equipments.

Thank you!!  8)
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6728
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2019, 07:52:43 am »

Hello everybody  ;D
Unfortunately I have to wake up this old post

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
admin
Logged

Hal Bissinger/COMSYSTEC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 214
    • COMSYSTEC
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2019, 07:06:18 pm »

Two PM8250 locked by an IT company that won't give the unlock code to the customer that asked me to solve a problem (the amp goes in standby mode cause the low volume used in the room).
Wow! Now we have IT people doing audio?? Bad enough they do what they are supposed to do!
-Hal
Logged

Giacomo Gala

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2019, 03:41:41 am »

Wow! Now we have IT people doing audio?? Bad enough they do what they are supposed to do!
-Hal

Not so strange in italy, where audio companies sell ledwalls and light companies sell djs equipment  ;D
Logged

Hal Bissinger/COMSYSTEC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 214
    • COMSYSTEC
Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2019, 11:46:53 am »

Not so strange in italy, where audio companies sell ledwalls and light companies sell djs equipment  ;D
Still not as bad as computer guys trying to do it.  >:(
-Hal
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Bose Powermatch PM8500 reset?
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2019, 11:46:53 am »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.043 seconds with 23 queries.