ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: 2.4GHz cardioid paddle and 5GHz omni antenna on same mic stand?  (Read 5588 times)

Andrew Henderson

• Lab Lounge
    • http://www.getlostinsound.com
2.4GHz cardioid paddle and 5GHz omni antenna on same mic stand?
« on: December 10, 2016, 12:34:42 PM »

Hi all. Are there any negative repercussions to putting a 2.4GHz cardioid paddle (for wireless mic receivers) and a 5GHz omni antenna (for console remote control) on the same mic stand for a live sound event? They could be separated by a few inches horizontally by using a "stereo bar", or by a foot or so vertically by using a clamp-on arm for one of them.

I'm an RF novice, but eager to learn more. When making a decision like this, is possible intermodulation the deciding factor? I read up on IM in a couple of different articles. This one is from a Shure white paper:

The strongest IM products are the two so-called 3rd order products produced by two adjacent transmitters operating at frequency f1 and frequency f2, where f1 is lower than f2. The resulting IM products may be calculated as:
          IM1 = (2 x f1) – f2
          IM2 = (2 x f2) – f1

It seems that with my 2 antennas, depending on the exact frequency, IM1 would be near zero and IM2 would be near 7.5GHz, which are both nowhere near the frequencies I'm operating at. Am I on the right track here?

Antennas in use:
Line 6 P180: http://store.line6.com/p180-antenna-pair.html
L-Com HGV-4958-12U: http://www.l-com.com/tabbeditem_mobi.aspx?id=43208

Pete Erskine

• Best Audio
Re: 2.4GHz cardioid paddle and 5GHz omni antenna on same mic stand?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2016, 12:55:03 PM »