ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Suggest a Small Digital Mixer  (Read 3212 times)

Joey Breaux

Suggest a Small Digital Mixer
« on: November 26, 2016, 02:56:48 PM »

I've been using the QU-16 for a couple of years and love it; but I'm no longer doing the band-thing. I'm about to start doing some acoustic stuff with another guitar player so I'm thinking smaller mixer; maybe the QSC Touchmix 16. Recommendations?

Corey Scogin

• Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Suggest a Small Digital Mixer
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2016, 03:40:44 PM »

I've been using the QU-16 for a couple of years and love it; but I'm no longer doing the band-thing. I'm about to start doing some acoustic stuff with another guitar player so I'm thinking smaller mixer; maybe the QSC Touchmix 16. Recommendations?

Are you OK with using a tablet as a wireless controller?

If so, I'd recommend any of the surface-less mixers: Behringer X32 Rack, A&H Qu-SB, Behringer XR18, Presonus, Mackie, etc.

Using a rack mounted mixer means that you can rack everything you need up and keep it connected (power strip, WiFi, wireless mics, IEMs or headphone amps, etc). It works great for quick repeatable setup. The QSC Touchmix has analog gains which means that they must be checked every time. It's also a "tabletop" mixer. Even though it's small, you have to get it out and plug in all the connections to get it going. 

Joey Breaux

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2016, 06:17:24 PM »

Yes, I'm OK with wireless. The A&H QU-SB would make the most sense to me since I'm already familiar with the app.

The QSC just looks so darn portable.

Are you OK with using a tablet as a wireless controller?

If so, I'd recommend any of the surface-less mixers: Behringer X32 Rack, A&H Qu-SB, Behringer XR18, Presonus, Mackie, etc.