ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2  (Read 4063 times)

Antoine van de Cruyssen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2016, 04:41:53 pm »

Well, after extensive mail contact with soundcraft, we've found out it isn't possible to use the xlr inputs as insert returns.  :-\

Guess I'll stay analog for a while. This way, it becomes way WAY to expensive.

Why digital consoles all seem to lack inserts? ???
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1531
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2016, 08:45:55 am »



Why digital consoles all seem to lack inserts? ???

Why manufacture something into a desk that  9 people will use?  What outboard gear are you using that is so special? 



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Antoine van de Cruyssen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2016, 01:56:46 pm »

Why manufacture something into a desk that  9 people will use?  What outboard gear are you using that is so special? 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Because we're all forced now to use whatever Soundcraft/Yamaha/Midas is building. Personally I really don't like the gates for drums on the Soundcraft. So, whop, another 5 inserts needed (using klark tekniks for those). Percussion, same there. Lead singers and background vocals, Art Pro MPA's, leadsingers also use voice processors. Main mix, Art Pro VLA, etc. etc. I have two D-Two's for guitars. I can go on for a while.

Offcourse, is it all nescesary? Probably not, but I like the sound, "my" bands like my sound. Personally, I don't like the digital sound. But we're already way in the future, my analog Yamaha is slowly giving up on me, so time to invest. But wtf, in what? I'm really lost. Going digital really costs a small luxury car.

I was jumping when I was working with a rented Performer 1, but didn't quite like the sound of the dynamics, in this case, it didn't matter, and anyway didn't have my trusted gear with me. Until I found out I can not connect it anyway  :-[ :-\
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5225
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2016, 02:06:44 pm »

Because we're all forced now to use whatever Soundcraft/Yamaha/Midas is building. Personally I really don't like the gates for drums on the Soundcraft. So, whop, another 5 inserts needed (using klark tekniks for those). Percussion, same there. Lead singers and background vocals, Art Pro MPA's, leadsingers also use voice processors. Main mix, Art Pro VLA, etc. etc. I have two D-Two's for guitars. I can go on for a while.

Offcourse, is it all nescesary? Probably not, but I like the sound, "my" bands like my sound. Personally, I don't like the digital sound. But we're already way in the future, my analog Yamaha is slowly giving up on me, so time to invest. But wtf, in what? I'm really lost. Going digital really costs a small luxury car.

I was jumping when I was working with a rented Performer 1, but didn't quite like the sound of the dynamics, in this case, it didn't matter, and anyway didn't have my trusted gear with me. Until I found out I can not connect it anyway  :-[ :-\

Have you tried a Waves Grid server and plugins to replicate this functionality?  A lot easier to transport and deploy.  Take a look at some of the Waves videos for the complex signal chains being used for some national acts.   Pretty amazing actually.

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Antoine van de Cruyssen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2016, 02:08:54 pm »

Hi Scott,

Never heard of it, sounds interesting, will look at it :)
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5225
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2016, 03:25:53 pm »

Hi Scott,

Never heard of it, sounds interesting, will look at it :)

One of my favorite.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d6mFYnhUAU
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Antoine van de Cruyssen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2016, 03:41:32 pm »

One of my favorite.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d6mFYnhUAU

That is pretty impressive... but makes my budget again even bigger. Went from an X32, to Si Expression, to Si Performer, now looking at LS9. It's just too much...
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5225
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Inserts on Soundcraft Expression / Performer 2
« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2016, 01:14:24 am »

Si Performer to an LS-9?  That's an interesting swerve.  Why?

Why do you say so expensive?  The Wavesgrid is on sale for $99.00



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.069 seconds with 21 queries.