ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Electrician Fee  (Read 11226 times)

Josh Evangelista

Electrician Fee
« on: October 21, 2016, 06:41:53 PM »

Hi guys,

How much does an electrician charges if you hire them to tap off the power line of a building for a show?

Mark Cadwallader

• Helena, Montana USA
Re: Electrician Fee
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2016, 06:48:52 PM »

Are you asking about a tap downstream from the meter and the main breaker?  How much power are you talking about?
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Josh Evangelista

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2016, 07:11:52 PM »

Are you asking about a tap downstream from the meter and the main breaker?  How much power are you talking about?

Yes. Sorry I have limited knowledge of electrical power so please bear with me. I will need to power a Danley DNA20k4 and two QSC PLD4.5 amps. I presume I can have two-three 20 amp outlets?

Mark Cadwallader

• Helena, Montana USA
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2016, 08:39:57 PM »

Yes. The cost is going to vary based on a number of factors:

1. Are there 3 open spaces in the circuit breaker box?  If not, then you will need a sub-panel (or a new main panel). (I assume that the electrical service to the building will support the additional amperage needed.)
2.  Is this a permanent installation, or a one-off event?
3.  How far do you need to go from the circuit breaker panel to the point you need to plug in?  Is there good access to run the wires (and conduit, if needed/required).  If it is temporary you might be able to run suitable cable to a small distro.

YMMV.
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Jeff Bankston

« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2016, 10:33:23 PM »