ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: WiFi Issues at my house...  (Read 5139 times)

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5616
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2016, 01:25:16 pm »

Not having double NAT is preferred from a purity perspective but given the relative speed between processing the double NAT and the speed of the Internet connection, I think it is a moot point and having any special setup on the ISP will create a future problem when they inadvertently reset it.

My $0.02


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

As Cailen pointed out it makes it a pain to open ports for security and other services.  It breaks UPNP so your kids XBOX voice chat won't work.

Double NAT breaks almost any point to point UDP protocol such as VoIP (lot's of folks work at home and use VoIP phones from home).

I could come up with more examples.

As we see more applications coded with WebRTP support these issues will become as much an anarchism as me, however for today having a real outside IP on the untrusted side of your router/firewall/security thing-a-ma-jig is the way to go.

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 980
    • Cenero Audio Visual
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2016, 01:42:21 pm »

I am curious why you want the ISPs box in bridge mode so much?

I am likely a minority but my habit is to always have the WIFI on any ISP supplied box disabled and put in my own router/firewall/wifi that I can manage. I set NAT on the WAN connection and ignore what ever configuration the ISP sets.

If I have other vendors wanting to install there own WIFI, they either have to explain how they will not interfere.
Are they connecting to your internet connection?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I could be wrong, but I've always understood bridge mode to mean disabling the wifi and disabling the routing, so the all-in-one device essentially becomes just a modem.

DirecTV is not connecting their 'wireless bridge' to my internet. It's wifi network is used solely to transport video between the different wireless receivers. However, the main Genie receiver IS connected to my internet. I don't believe their wireless bridge 'sees' that internet, but I could be wrong.

ADT uses a cellular modem/router/AP. I asked if they were going to hook it to my wifi but they said that was too unreliable. He said they connect to Verizon and AT&T for redundancy. I don't have a landline at home.
Logged

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 980
    • Cenero Audio Visual
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2016, 01:52:19 pm »

Otoh, the easy thing to do is ditch the combo unit and just get a good reliable cable modem without all the bullshit bells and whistles. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I originally wanted to do this, but I don't want to be in a situation where my internet is down/slow/otherwise acting up, and I call Time Warner to troubleshoot and they have an opportunity to blame my third party modem. I'd rather them have full responsibility for getting it into the house.
Logged

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 980
    • Cenero Audio Visual
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2016, 01:54:59 pm »

As Cailen pointed out it makes it a pain to open ports for security and other services.  It breaks UPNP so your kids XBOX voice chat won't work.

Double NAT breaks almost any point to point UDP protocol such as VoIP (lot's of folks work at home and use VoIP phones from home).

I could come up with more examples.

As we see more applications coded with WebRTP support these issues will become as much an anarchism as me, however for today having a real outside IP on the untrusted side of your router/firewall/security thing-a-ma-jig is the way to go.

I wasn't aware of the VoIP issue, but I do have VoIP phones at the office and I've thought about bringing one home. Guess I would have been in for a surprise there.

Right now very few of the cloud management functions of my Meraki network are working, and I know it's because of the double NAT situation. Since it's my house I don't really NEED to manage it remotely, but it would be nice to get it working as intended.
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5616
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2016, 03:13:07 pm »

Doesn't everyone have a dumb cable modem and an Enterprise Security Appilance

Sent from my SM-N930V using Tapatalk


Working from home today.  I have a manger switch and terminate my work VPN in this box too.  It's the gateway for all the vlans:

Work
Guest
Home
Security and Automation
Voice
Test net

« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 03:16:32 pm by Scott Holtzman »
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Cailen Waddell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1428
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2016, 10:34:05 pm »

I originally wanted to do this, but I don't want to be in a situation where my internet is down/slow/otherwise acting up, and I call Time Warner to troubleshoot and they have an opportunity to blame my third party modem. I'd rather them have full responsibility for getting it into the house.

If you go to time warner and demand a modem only - they will give you one (if they have any). 

I'm about to, because the ubee POS that I got from TWC so I could get 200/20mb service doesn't pass the ip renew command thru correctly and freezes once a week....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5616
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #16 on: September 14, 2016, 12:34:04 am »

If you go to time warner and demand a modem only - they will give you one (if they have any). 

I'm about to, because the ubee POS that I got from TWC so I could get 200/20mb service doesn't pass the ip renew command thru correctly and freezes once a week....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am jealous of your 20M upload.  We don't have that service in our area yet.  Is it DOCSIS 3 bonded or something else?

I am very happy with the Motorola DOCSIS 3 modem.  It was less than $100 at Best Buy, cheaper that I could get from Amazon at the time. It's rock solid.

I do miss having the DOCSIS 2 interface in the router, at that time I had a Cisco 1800.  Now they only support Cisco Enterprise stuff on Business Class. 

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Cailen Waddell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1428
Re: WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #17 on: September 14, 2016, 07:34:49 am »

I am jealous of your 20M upload.  We don't have that service in our area yet.  Is it DOCSIS 3 bonded or something else?

I am very happy with the Motorola DOCSIS 3 modem.  It was less than $100 at Best Buy, cheaper that I could get from Amazon at the time. It's rock solid.

I do miss having the DOCSIS 2 interface in the router, at that time I had a Cisco 1800.  Now they only support Cisco Enterprise stuff on Business Class.

Yes docsis 3...   I had a v3 modem but it only had (I think) 8 channel bonding, and they wanted me to upgrade to one that could do 32 channel binding.

We are very lucky to be in an area that has att uverse and time warner.  Google fiber is also rolling out and started signing up customers (not interest but customers) on Monday.  Att has started offering a gig service and fiber to the premises in some neighborhoods.   It's nice there is competition.  I can call and threaten to leave and get my bill lowered. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 980
    • Cenero Audio Visual
WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #18 on: September 14, 2016, 08:22:24 am »

If you go to time warner and demand a modem only - they will give you one (if they have any). 

I'm about to, because the ubee POS that I got from TWC so I could get 200/20mb service doesn't pass the ip renew command thru correctly and freezes once a week....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I had never considered asking for just a modem. Good idea. I think they thought they were doing me a favor with the all-in-one.

About a month ago I ran a speed test and was getting 0.02 down and 0.00 up. I pay for 300/30, but in reality it's less than half that. I called TWC and they were able to remote into my modem and fix it. I'd rather not lose that ability.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 14, 2016, 08:25:47 am by Scott Carneval »
Logged

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 980
    • Cenero Audio Visual
WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2016, 08:22:58 am »

Double post, please delete
« Last Edit: September 14, 2016, 08:26:19 am by Scott Carneval »
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

WiFi Issues at my house...
« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2016, 08:22:58 am »


Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.042 seconds with 20 queries.