ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 70 Volt speaker problem  (Read 4173 times)

locosoundman

70 Volt speaker problem
« on: November 05, 2005, 10:58:44 AM »

Hello All:

I am having a problem with a 70-volt system - there are four boxes in the main auditorium, four ceiling-mounted in the foyer and two wall mounted in the foyer.

The level to all of the speakers is acceptable except for the four ceiling-mounted models.  Before I go up in the crawlspace, is there anything in particular that could be the problem better-put any red flags that I should look for specifically when I am up there?  

Unfortunately I do not know what model the speakers are.  I know a bit about live concert sound, but am a complete novice with 70-volt distributed systems.

Thanks
Rob
What does this little red button do?

Greg Hertfelder

Re: 70 Volt speaker problem
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2005, 12:18:31 PM »

Rob
Seventy-volt systems are encode-decode systems. The 8-ohm impedance of the amplifier is converted (encoded) to the 70-volt standard at the output of the amplifier, and then individual transformers at each speaker are used to decode the amplifier output back to 8-ohm impedance, at different wattage settings.

The output of the amplifier transformer (which could be external or internal of the amplifier) will feed a speaker wire pair informally called the home run. The home run will go to each speaker enclosure, in a parallel, daisy-chain fashion.

Inside each speaker enclosure, the home run pair will attach to the primary winding of the decode speaker transformer, and then another pair will probably be attached in parallel, which connects to the next speaker in the daisy-chain.