ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17   Go Down

Author Topic: PA Speakers Recommendation (live band)  (Read 35887 times)

Mark Finnemore

PA Speakers Recommendation (live band)
« on: May 10, 2016, 04:41:54 am »

Hi,
Years back I used to have a small Turbosound QLight setup: 2 x TQ-310, and 2 x TQ-115. I used these for my own band, open mic nights, and was sometimes hired out by other bands I knew. Obviously this was just for small venues like pubs or small/medium clubs, and they always delivered.

I sold the speakers and amps because I ran out of money ;-)

I'm getting more involved with bands again now (I'm a drummer), and there's been a few occasions now where I've had to hire a set of speakers for FOH duties so I'm thinking it's about time I bought some speakers again as I have everything else I need.

I'm not too worried about outdoors; I think for that I'd always hire a big rig, but I'm after something that will do pubs, clubs and maybe even a wedding or 2 (so perhaps 100 people? 200 at a stretch but unlikely).

I've been thinking about the following : -

Sub:
So far I've only looked at : -
1) 1 x RFC 905-AS (Band Pass)
2) 1 x RFC 705-AS II (Bass Reflex)
3) 1 x FBT ProMaxX 15Sa
4) 1 x Other?

I'd probably add another sub later for the bigger venues when budget allowed.. They'd probably have to be 15" and not 18" due to size/weight. Be nice to feel the punch of the kick, and rumble of the 16" tom if possible..

Tops, either : -
1) 2 x RFC 312a (or 712a?)
2) 2 x RFC HD-12 (or HD-32?)
3) 2 x FBT Promaxx 12a / 14a
4) 2 x Yamaha DSR112 (too brash maybe?)
5) 2 x Other?

I remember liking the sound of the Turbosound speakers, they were not brash when processed correctly, and I *always* got complimented as they were much better than the standard cheap 2 x 15 on a stick often used by others. The Neumann stage mics probably helped too, they are so nice! :-)