ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dante redundant playback switch  (Read 15350 times)

Ray Soly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #50 on: May 15, 2016, 11:05:00 am »

Hi Ray,

 I can't think of a way of manually switching from Link1->2.

Thanks

Richard

Hi Richard,
 you pull out the link 1 coax (BNC) or make/buy a switch which does that (most BNC video switchers will work) the trick is instead of switching between the 2 signals (Qlab machines or other) you interrupt the MADI stream from link1, the Ilive madi card (in redundant mode) instantly switches to link 2... seamless, no audio interruption, not automatic but faster than recalling a scene ......the 48 channel limitation is inherent to the digico UB madi boxes.....

Ray 

a link of interest for Andrew https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/qlab/ZEpdpBFS2Ws
« Last Edit: May 15, 2016, 11:58:44 am by Ray Soly »
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1712
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #51 on: May 15, 2016, 02:36:00 pm »

you pull out the link 1 coax (BNC) or make/buy a switch which does that (most BNC video switchers will work)

Or if you want to get fancy, you could get something like this.
It would be nice if someone came up with one of these boxes for Dante!
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Jelmer de Jong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 171
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #52 on: May 15, 2016, 04:48:39 pm »

Its easy to make a switchbox for MADI because both the sender and receiver don't care who either of them are. As long as there is juice on the line and that juice is in a acceptable format both will play nice.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1712
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #53 on: May 22, 2016, 12:12:20 pm »


I didn't try running anything on other channels that weren't changing. I'll have to try that tomorrow.


I set up a pair of UDKs, one to recall Dante Patch 001 and one to recall Dante Patch 002. I had hoped that I would be able to toggle back and forth between the two patches. When I recalled Dante Patch 002, it deleted the playback channels from the Dante Patch 001, but did not repatch them per what Dante Patch 002 was set up for. Like I said, I may have missed a step or two in the set up and will have to try it again tomorrow.
Did you ever get a chance to test this further, Justice?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2442
  • back home in Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #54 on: May 22, 2016, 01:41:25 pm »

Did you ever get a chance to test this further, Justice?

Yes I did. I had mixed results. I was going to post more details but got swamped this week. Hopefully I can get to it one evening this week while we have shows.
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1712
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #55 on: May 22, 2016, 02:01:35 pm »

Ok, thanks. From what others have said, the audio shouldn't drop out on channels that are not being patched to a new source.
It would be good to verify that, as well as how much time it takes for a changed patch to re-establish and start passing audio.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1712
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #56 on: June 20, 2016, 12:21:08 pm »

Hey Justice;

Just a nudge to see if you have a moment to tell us your results?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1712
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #57 on: June 20, 2016, 12:26:13 pm »

I think I'll be on a QL next week, I'll give it a try.
Did you ever get a chance to try this, Mac?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6809
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #58 on: June 20, 2016, 02:30:17 pm »

Did you ever get a chance to try this, Mac?

No. I likely won't be in front of a mixer again till Sept.

Mac
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #59 on: June 20, 2016, 02:51:15 pm »

Summer vacation or did you get a real job?  :o

No. I likely won't be in front of a mixer again till Sept.

Mac

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Dante redundant playback switch
« Reply #59 on: June 20, 2016, 02:51:15 pm »


Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.048 seconds with 22 queries.