ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Monitor/vocal PA speakers  (Read 4260 times)

Lee Buckalew

• Classic LAB
  • St. Louis, MO area
    • Pro Sound Advice, Inc.
Re: Monitor/vocal PA speakers
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2016, 02:48:06 pm »

Hi, just a little background.  I am a freelance engineer and I frequently hire rigs, but it is becoming uneconomical for smaller shows, so I'm putting together a small rig to use in smaller venues and have settled on JBL's SRX 800's as being good sound, bang for the buck FOH.  I was going to buy some Presonus 328's and 315's, for monitor duties, unfortunately there has been a huge price hike in the UK and they are no longer in the budget.  I need 4 decent, self powered speakers that can double for occasional playback system on poles as well as monitors when using the SRX's FOH.  Obvious candidates are things like the Yamaha DSR's, QSC K's, but I wondered if anyone has any suggestion for sleepers that I should be checking out?

I'm in the UK so availability here is important and budget is around 600 - 700 a cab.

Ideally I want something that sounds good, plays nice and isn't a feedback problem with enough oomph to use FOH at a pinch, preferably without any tell tale "fizzy" top end or awkward cabinet resonances.

Tall order I know, much of my time is spent using higher end systems from D&B, Meyer, EAW, Martin, etc, but I know the good MI stuff has got considerably better in the last couple of years, so I'm hopeful that with the help of other board members I can get pointed in the right direction.  Thanks in advance for anyone taking the time to post.  :)

Check out the Martin CDD-LIVE series.  The US based price is very good but I don't know how that translates to U.K. pricing, it may not be as low as you are considering.  The larger models have pricing that is very favorable compared to the SRX 800 series.