ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: clueless about outboard effects - getting started for a newbie  (Read 9915 times)

Ron Roberts

Many many moons ago (like almost 30 years ago) I played in a band, then later bought the band out of the PA system and ran a small sound business.  I'm thinking about getting back into it and I'm piece-by-piece acquiring pro-grade equipment to build a decent rig while I keep my day job.   I think the Neptune board I used back in the 80s had built-in reverb on all 16 channels.    What else do you need?   ha ha.
Well I thought we sounded great at least!

So I have zero experience and zero knowledge of how to implement outboard effects.   If anyone knows of a good book or online class - or a youtube video, let me know.

I have the opportunity to pickup a used analog Midas Verona rather inexpensive which has zero effects onboard.   And I'm trying to figure out how I can offer reverb/chorus/delay/etc. to vocals, snare drum, maybe keyboards, etc.

If my questions are just too sophomoric feel free to put me in my place or kick me out, but my philosophy has always been the stupidest question is the one not asked.

So here goes:  The first basic thing I do not understand is, all these effects units I see have only one or two channels input/output.   But I am going to want to put reverb/chorus/delay/etc.  on multiple channels.   For example if I have a 32 channel board, some of the instruments will run clean (I think).  A electric guitarist is going to handle his own effects probably; his amp or amp modeling simulator is his deal to make the sound he wants - its part of his instrument.   Vocals and drums on the other hand need effects from the PA system.    Am I on or off track here?