ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Tannoy VXP Question  (Read 5330 times)

David Jameson

• SR Forums
Tannoy VXP Question
« on: March 26, 2016, 08:20:51 AM »

A Theatrical Company has won the bid for updating our local high school auditorium...roughly 500 seats and anything from chorus concerts to gospel concerts to talking heads.  The company has spec'd Tannoy VXP speakers and monitors.  I have no experience with these but they don't look like a viable solution for this install. 

Anyone have any experience with these?  Will they provide 100db or so at the back of the room for full concert quality?

Thanks for your time.
Jameson Productions
Anderson, SC 29625
jameson_prod at bellsouth.net

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
Re: Tannoy VXP Question
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2016, 09:30:55 AM »

A Theatrical Company has won the bid for updating our local high school auditorium...roughly 500 seats and anything from chorus concerts to gospel concerts to talking heads.  The company has spec'd Tannoy VXP speakers and monitors.  I have no experience with these but they don't look like a viable solution for this install. 

Anyone have any experience with these?  Will they provide 100db or so at the back of the room for full concert quality?

Thanks for your time.
First we need more information about your question.

What model are you talking about?

Are you talking about 100dB A or C, fast or slow or peak?

How far is "the back" from the speakers?  Is the seating wide and not deep or deep and not wide or something else?

How many speakers-what sort of layout? 

You say "full concert quality", exactly what does that mean?
From the type of usage you describe, 100dB A or C would seem to be very loud.

Are YOU expecting rock concert levels?  What does the SCHOOL (the people paying for it) expect?