ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Soundcraft SI Impact or Expression 2  (Read 31117 times)

Chuck Simon

• Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: Soundcraft SI Impact or Expression 2
« Reply #30 on: February 14, 2016, 11:54:10 AM »

After using and owning both, I can not detect any difference in the quality between the Impact and Expression.  I have no experience with the Performer.

I would not be surprised if the Expression is soon to become an endangered species, just like the Compact!
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 11:56:50 AM by Chuck Simon »

Bob Leonard

• Boston, MA USA
« Reply #31 on: February 14, 2016, 03:50:28 PM »

Are you sure about that?  Objectively?  In blind testing?

Soundcraft say that both the Expression and Performer use Vi pre-amps, and I've never seen anything to suggest that the Performer has an audio performance premium over the Expression.  Though, yes, it does have greater mix capability, scribble strips - not to mention DMX  ;)

Which made me look harder at the Impact - can't find any boasts about the mic pres in the Impact - wonder if they've cut corners there, or have given up on the "how good the pres are" line?

Alec,
I didn't say there was an audio quality difference. I said;

" Those of us using the Performer series will probably all attest to a higher level of quality over the rest of the Si series."

I believe the component and build quality to be a bit higher on the Performer models within the Si series. I don't believe anyone is going to hear a sonic difference if the boards are set up and used correctly.
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

Steve Payne

• Soundworks of Virginia, Inc.
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2016, 05:40:36 PM »

Are you sure about that?  Objectively?  In blind testing?