ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: cat6 shielded coupler  (Read 3862 times)

Nate Armstrong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
cat6 shielded coupler
« on: February 02, 2016, 01:02:49 PM »

Has anyone used a cat6 shielded coupler to join 2 cat6 cables for a stage snake. If so
what was the item you used.   

http://www.showmecables.com/product/cat6a-keystone-inline-coupler-shielded.aspx

If it matters, I want the option to join a 150 foot to 50 foot
Proco DuraCat cat6
midas m32
midas dl16 x2
Logged

Doug Johnson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Rhoadesville, VA
Re: cat6 shielded coupler
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2016, 08:13:48 PM »

 I use these:
http://www.neutrik.com/en/accessories/inline-adapters/ne8ff.
They work fine with Duracat 6e and my pro1.  Although, I am not sure if they are shielded.
Logged

Pete Erskine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1432
    • Best Audio
Re: cat6 shielded coupler
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2016, 10:03:03 PM »

http://www.showmecables.com/product/cat6a-keystone-inline-coupler-shielded.aspx

That is the right one.  Insulate it from other shielded couplers and do a line test of each wire end to end through the coupler and measure ohms.
Logged
Pete Erskine
917-750-1134
www.bestaudio.com
[email protected]

Nate Armstrong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
Re: cat6 shielded coupler
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2016, 01:23:59 PM »

Thank you.
Logged

Dan Mortensen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 974
Re: cat6 shielded coupler
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 09:31:51 AM »

Has anyone used a cat6 shielded coupler to join 2 cat6 cables for a stage snake. If so
what was the item you used.   

http://www.showmecables.com/product/cat6a-keystone-inline-coupler-shielded.aspx

If it matters, I want the option to join a 150 foot to 50 foot
Proco DuraCat cat6
midas m32
midas dl16 x2

This one has the fatal flaw in that it doesn't allow direct connection of Ethercon cables. The lack of Ethercons allows ElectroStatic Discharge (static sparks) to disrupt your signal.

The Neutrik coupler that Doug linked to does have Ethercons on it.

Sorry to be late to the party but I just saw this thread.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: cat6 shielded coupler
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 09:31:51 AM »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.024 seconds with 19 queries.