ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?  (Read 2644 times)

Andrew Makinson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« on: February 01, 2016, 02:31:56 pm »

Greetings,
Is it possible on my CL5 to save a mix output with sends in a Library or any other way?
Yamaha let's me have the option to copy a mix output with sends, but I don't see a way to save a library with sends.  The purpose is to have different monitor mixes saved for alternate musicians. 
« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 09:41:09 pm by Andrew Makinson »
Logged
--
Andrew Makinson
Grace Covenant Church
Chantilly, VA

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 04:50:50 pm »

Why not use a channel library for each main and alternate?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Makinson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2016, 09:49:50 pm »

Why not use a channel library for each main and alternate?

It's the output channel library that I'd like to save, but with mix send levels from individual input channels.  It seems like only the module parameters are saved in the output (mix) channel library.  I'd like to have the send levels from each channel saved also. 
Logged
--
Andrew Makinson
Grace Covenant Church
Chantilly, VA

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2016, 10:00:18 pm »

It's the output channel library that I'd like to save, but with mix send levels from individual input channels.  It seems like only the module parameters are saved in the output (mix) channel library.  I'd like to have the send levels from each channel saved also. 
No, you want channel libraries. One for each channel that has changing players.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Makinson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2016, 10:16:21 pm »

No, you want channel libraries. One for each channel that has changing players.
I'm not sure how the input channel libraries can help me.  Let me explain in more detail.  One of my scenarios is alternating backing vocalists.  One guy wants his IEM mix to have just his vocal, click, lead keys, and a little of the lead vocal.  The other guy wants a full mix with, guitars, drums, horns, B3, other vocals, etc.  These guys swap around regularly.  Typically I have 18 people on IEMs and the BGVs might be on different mixes depending on what day it is and who is singing. 
Logged
--
Andrew Makinson
Grace Covenant Church
Chantilly, VA

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2016, 10:41:56 pm »

Sorry, my mistake, I misunderstood.
I had the same problem, and the only solution was custom software which I wrote. I'm not sure if you're using multiple scenes or not, but in my case there are many scenes per show, so the problem was pretty complex. Now it's a breeze. I've never seen or heard of another solution, except perhaps to give each player their own mix (if you're using 8 mixes, you have 3 sets of 8, for example, if the console has 24 mixes) or to do a lot of charting.

If you're not doing multiple scenes, the problem is much simpler, and something like YammieQ could easily handle the duties. Actually, YammieQ could probably do it with multiple scenes too, but I've not tried that.

If any of this interests you, let me know.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha CL Mix output library with sends?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2016, 10:41:56 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.073 seconds with 23 queries.