ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RF in north america  (Read 2498 times)

Pete Erskine

• Best Audio
RF in north america
« on: January 03, 2016, 04:33:20 PM »

This was an email sent to me on pro Sound and the writer has agreed to share it.

Hello Pete,

My name is Sapna Patel. I hope you are well and had a good holiday season. I don't know if this is bad etiquette contacting you directly on a forum as I'm not really used to being on these. But I heard you were one of the best people to ask about things related to RF. And I have read a few of your articles.

I am a freelance RF technician in the UK. I mostly do award shows and festivals in the UK but I'm getting out more. I did a few weeks in N. America last year with One Direction and its seemed straight forward enough but I wanted to investigate a bit more into what is the correct procedure over there and wondered if you could advise me or point me in the right direction.

I tried calling the FCC but maybe I spoke to the wrong department or asked the wrong questions to get a simple answer.

It seems shows with small RF channel counts (I mostly deal with radio mics and IEMs) can turn up and scan and plot frequencies anywhere that's free between about 500-700MHz excluding channel 37... But you can apply for a license if you want to book channels to protect yourself from white space devices. Do you happen to know if this is widely practiced yet? Or if the RF channel count is above 50 they recommend licensing channels anyway.

I guess what I really want to know is if WSD are having a big impact on the kind of work we do over there yet? Do you happen to know anyone who has toured out there that has reported any issues yet?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Sapna Patel