ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Meyer UPA-1A rant/help  (Read 31978 times)

Pierre Olivier

Meyer UPA-1A rant/help
« on: December 23, 2015, 10:25:36 AM »

Hi there!
First post here (I hope I'm in the right forum), but I'm really a veteran: I started doing live sound in 1976...

I recently been involved, with a friend, in the purchase of a used PA system consisting mainly of Meyer UPA-1A speakers, Ashly FET-500 amps, Transparence subs, and assorted crossovers and controllers.
I'm in the process of getting this system back in a good working condition, and I'm having a hard time!
Upon plugging everything, (fear not, I am using the required M-1A processor), the system sounds dreadful: complete lack of warmth (upper bass), and the mids just want to shred your ears. Is this normal?

Now we have extensively searched the internet seeking everything that mentions UPA-1A. We all know that Meyer is a top-notch company with highly regarded products and an obsession for quality. We read that these speakers should stand the test of time, but we have NEVER, EVER come up with some comment about the *sound* of these. Nor with a published frequency response plot! Everybody seems hush-hush when it comes to the sound of the UPA-1A, to the point that we feel we've just joined a sect, or that there may be a Meyer Gestapo!

That said, we have come to some sort of listenability with agressive EQing. I say this is not normal. We know about Meyer's in-factory service policy: we certainly don't have the money for that, so they won't be sent. I'd like to ask for advice here about somes issues we have, and comment by those in the know:

After 25 years, the foam "lens" in the horn is suffering from "foam rot", and is starting to desintegrate. Anybody got a tip as to where I can find appropriate material for a repair? How important are those "lens"?