ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha cl 3 hiss  (Read 3760 times)

Predrag Blagojevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« on: December 11, 2015, 07:59:17 pm »

As the title says we have hiss on Yamaha cl 3.  We changed rio, changed ethernet cable that connects console with rio.... Hiss is present even on omni inputs with rio disconnected.
On startup a wrong word clock warning appears although it is said that this problem is solved with new firmware update.... Firmware on console is v3.11. Any thoughts?
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1303
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2015, 08:56:47 pm »

What is your word clock set to source from?  Without the RIO connected it should be set to internal, with the RIO it should be from the network / RIO box.  Its a change you have to make based on the set up at the time, its not automatic.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1471
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2015, 09:30:27 pm »

Make a recording of the hiss and post it here.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Predrag Blagojevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2015, 02:46:26 am »

I have changed the word clock source to internal with the rio disconnected and dante with rio connected but hiss is still present.
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4261
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2015, 08:11:30 am »

As the title says we have hiss on Yamaha cl 3.  We changed rio, changed ethernet cable that connects console with rio.... Hiss is present even on omni inputs with rio disconnected.
On startup a wrong word clock warning appears although it is said that this problem is solved with new firmware update.... Firmware on console is v3.11. Any thoughts?
Has the amount of noise changed or has it always been like this?  Have you muted all the inputs and outputs to see if it goes away?  Is the oscillator on?
Logged

Kevin Maxwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2015, 12:26:26 pm »

Of course it hisses – you are using the Rio as your snake and snakes Hiss. Some of them have poisons venom so be careful. They usually hiss when they are mad or scared. hisssssssssss

Now if it was humming that is usually because it doesn’t know the words.   

 ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)
Logged

scottstephens

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 248
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2015, 02:44:19 pm »

Predrag,

    We have a CL5 and it also has a hiss. We too have  updated everything and played with Rio boxes, and everything else we could think of. Fortunately for us, the hiss is only on monitor mix 1 output. We initially blamed the monitor, JBL VP series. But we switched and swapped out everything and it is still there.
   It could be Yamaha has a buggy problem here and there. Please post if you find anything out. We've contacted Yamaha, but so far, no response. Our rep is trying to help us, but that is it.
scott
Logged

Gregory Marshall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2015, 12:18:13 am »

When we started to use our CL5, we had hiss in the outputs.  We tracked it down to the talkback volume on the front of the console.  If this is turned up it will put hiss through the outputs of the console.  We always leave it turned all the way down and route the talkback to Omni in 8.

Greg
Logged

Predrag Blagojevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2015, 07:48:06 am »

Thanks to all for the answers. The oscillator is off and it is not routed to any channel or output. I am sorry for not being specific. Hiss is present on all input channels except the fx returns.  Hiss increases as you turn up the gain from initial -6 and when you get to +19 it stops. At that point the input signal is pretty hot.  I haven`t worked with this console for 3 months but I do not recall if this was the case before.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1471
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha cl 3 hiss
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2015, 12:02:31 pm »

Record and measure the hiss and post your results.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.049 seconds with 23 queries.