Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: --  (Read 25073 times)

Brandon Scopel

Re: "Age-ism" In Live Sound
« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2015, 08:35:08 AM »

Also, make sure people don't take advantage of you. I did a three day gig last week for a retirement community that I brought in 4 channels of ulxp with disto and paddles, x32, and 2 rmx2450 to power their speakers (since they try to run 4 mrx515 off one side of a xti1002). They only paid me $150 because it was 'good experience'. I have been doing their shows for the last 4 years and they don't understand that they need to pay me more when they want me to bring gear. They were not happy when I told them how much it would cost next time.

Sent from my D6708 using Tapatalk

Steve M Smith

• Isle of Wight - England
« Reply #21 on: December 10, 2015, 09:15:12 AM »

Most people get work through word of mouth.  You need to be known to be good.

So whatever work you can get, don't just be adequate at it, excel.

Ask people if they want tea/coffee/etc. before they ask you to get it.  Coil up that pile of leads before someone asks you to. Have an interest in every aspect of the business.

After a while, people will remember you as the enthusiastic one and you will find offers of work will come in.

Steve.

g'bye, Dick Rees

• Duluth
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2015, 09:30:33 AM »

It's not HOW OLD you are, it's WHO you are.
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

soundguy96

« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2015, 10:02:47 AM »

--
« Last Edit: August 23, 2023, 02:39:14 PM by soundguy96 »

John Roberts {JR}

• Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2015, 10:24:57 AM »

Hi guys,