ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Amplified Speakers vs Passive Spakers  (Read 4345 times)

Jahaziel Martin

Amplified Speakers vs Passive Spakers
« on: November 13, 2015, 05:33:08 PM »

Hey Hi.

I'm a music leader in my church and recently I was discussing with the pastor about getting new equipment, basically new speakers, new mixer and some other basic stuff, but the real deal: SPEAKERS. We have these old JBL JRX125 (2 per side) running through a Mackie M-1400i. We've been using this setup for about 12 years. The speakers have had plenty of repairs and they still work, but I think is time to move on for new equipment.

My sales guy in sweetwater recommended me (2) QSC KW153 if I want to choose amplified speakers. The other option was (2) JBL PRX425 + (1) Crown XTi 6002 amp, obviously if we go for passive speakers.

What do you recommend? I'm not a pro, so I basically don't know nothing about this and that's why I'm asking to the pros.

Doug Fowler

• Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: Amplified Speakers vs Passive Spakers
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2015, 06:29:20 PM »

Read the rules, fix your display name.

Thank you for your cooperation.
Brawndo, the Thirst Mutilator. 
It's got electrolytes. 
It's got what plants crave.

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2015, 08:00:36 PM »

Hey Hi.