ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work  (Read 4328 times)

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1901
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2015, 06:47:34 pm »

Which breaker pops? The internal one, or the outlet you plug it into?

If it's the external breaker and NOT the internal breaker, the problem is likely a fairly simple fix, as the power is shorted at the plug, prior to the breaker. Not a whole lot to go through and troubleshoot. If the problem is the breaker on the unit itself, then some other component is shorting out, and it will take a bit more troubleshooting to find that.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21935
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2015, 06:55:15 pm »

I'm with Brian J.  More specificity would help but Patrick has the amp on it's way for service.

Looking at the pic of the IEC inlet makes me think the power cord wasn't fully seated and arcing could account for tripping the supply circuit breaker.  I'd think with that much arcing, though, that the power cord would be deformed, too.

If it trips the amplifier's built in circuit breaker on power up there is probably an output device (or more than one) shorting to ground - at least in Olde Skool Big Iron designs.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Patrick Campbell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 171
    • Jury's Out Rock Band
Re: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2015, 02:02:13 pm »

I'm with Brian J.  More specificity would help but Patrick has the amp on it's way for service.

Looking at the pic of the IEC inlet makes me think the power cord wasn't fully seated and arcing could account for tripping the supply circuit breaker.  I'd think with that much arcing, though, that the power cord would be deformed, too.

If it trips the amplifier's built in circuit breaker on power up there is probably an output device (or more than one) shorting to ground - at least in Olde Skool Big Iron designs.

Thanks guys-  it is covered under warranty  -  I will update this post when I get it back. (5-10 day turn around)

Glad a kept a QSC RMX 5050 laying around

Logged

Patrick Campbell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 171
    • Jury's Out Rock Band
Re: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2015, 01:43:52 pm »

Hey Everyone -

Got the Powersoft K3 back and it's working great

Thanks again,

Patrick
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Powersoft K3 keeps popping breakers and won't work
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2015, 01:43:52 pm »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.057 seconds with 25 queries.