ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: 50 Amp Recptacle Adapter  (Read 9985 times)

TJ (Tom) Cornish

• St. Paul, MN
Re: 50 Amp Recptacle Adapter
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2015, 10:08:42 AM »

Jonathan, I see that we are in agreement that the pictured device is a NEMA 6-50.  However, we each suggest a different wiring of the poles. (One hot at 250v to ground, vs two hots at 120v to ground and 240v leg to leg.)  I thought that NEMA 10-50 had the two hots configuration with 3P,3W. Am I missing something, and if so, what? 

Edit:  I'm not a licensed electrician, so I always try to question what I think I know (and not screw up).
Mark, in the US, there isn't a standard voltage of 250V to ground.  The NEMA 6-50 is hot, hot, ground, missing the neutral wire.  Each hot is 120V to ground, and 240v between the two hots.

The NEMA 10 series is hot, hot, neutral, missing the ground wire.  Same voltage of the hot legs as the NEMA 6 series - 240v between hots, 120v hot to neutral.  This is an obsolete plug series.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEMA_connector#NEMA_10
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 10:11:19 AM by TJ (Tom) Cornish »

Guy Holt

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2015, 12:09:36 PM »

A small portable transformer will weigh less than the printed version of your whitepaper.  I suggest again that if you want to be helpful, take some time to break up your information into a form where people will actually read it, and then provide some sources or specifications where people might have a chance to purchase and assemble the right components.  Better yet, get Multiquip or someone to package appropriate transformers into a listed product so they can actually be setup and used by non-electricians.