ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9   Go Down

Author Topic: ETX vs EKX  (Read 48983 times)

Lionel Croom

ETX vs EKX
« on: September 21, 2015, 04:50:47 PM »

I have local band in St. Louis.  I don't claim to be a pro sound man but I have been playing and running sound for 25 years.  I'm also new to this board. 

Last year the band started off loading our passive equipment for smaller powered equipment.  We're not spring chickens anymore.  Anyway, I'm the guy that runs the rig and after selling off our shared equipment I'm buying the new gear.  I was an understudy for a local sound company back in the 90's so I have some working knowledge of unity gain and the how frequencies travel at different speeds in rooms and outside venues.  Which unfortunately has led me to the EV ETX line.  So there's the background and here is where I'm at and now.

Last year I replaced one very large rack of gear and a 24x4x2 sound board with 1 QSC touchmix 16.  Love it and now it is android compatible, even better.  Can't believe I used to set all the crap up.  I did keep one turd polisher piece of gear.  A DBX sonic maximize still running between the board and front end.

At the same time I purchased two EV Live X 12p powered speakers for mains.  The plan is to retire these to monitors and replace them with higher end front cabs.  At the time we only got enough for our old passives to buy 1 powered Live X 12. 
My questions is what are the advantages of the ETX 2 way speakers over the EKX line besides wattage?  It looks like the EKX is the ELX line with the fancy DSP control.   Is that a correct assessment?

I just ordered the ETX 18SP's for low end.  We've been using our guitarists Mackie sub.  It's no were near what our old passive subs were doing, but we were getting by.