ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Meyer Constellation effectiveness  (Read 9916 times)

Lee Buckalew

• Classic LAB
  • St. Louis, MO area
    • Pro Sound Advice, Inc.
Meyer Constellation effectiveness
« on: August 28, 2015, 03:39:27 PM »

I have had limited experience with Constellation during one of the Star Wars in Concert stops.  That use was live, onstage only, for venue to venue consistency in the orchestra's sound-field.  The system worked very well for that application.

Do any of you have any experience with the system in a very live, very reflective space?
We have a client considering multiple new sound systems and one direction that they are wanting to consider is a Meyer system with Constellation to address some acoustical property needs.  I believe that it was Brad Weber who had indicated quite some time ago that he was not all that impressed with the potential output capability and with the after sale support from Meyer.  I would expect Meyer to dispute this since it is their system so I wanted informed 3rd party input both on system capability and after the sale support.

The room in question is a metal pre-fab type church layout, nearly square and about 180'x180' with exposed roof beam truss and little to no acoustic treatment.  There is not even carpeting on the floor, concrete only.  Seating is in the 2000 person range including a small (6 or so rows deep) balcony that wraps around 3 sides of the venue.

My feeling is that a very live and acoustically problematic space that routinely has A Weighted fast response SPL of 100-105 dB/SPL during portions of services would be better served by adding an equivalent dollar value in acoustic treatment when compared to Constellation.  This client is not looking for variable acoustics but for a consistently more acoustically pleasant and interactive experience for their audience.