ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: smaart I-O  (Read 6719 times)

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9045
  • Atlanta GA
Re: smaart I-O
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2015, 08:57:00 am »

I use a Roland Duo Capture, it appears to be the unit Behringer ripped off this time... I thought they said they'd stopped that sort of thing...


In no way am I defending Behringer-I totally understand the history of Behringer copies (starting with the Mackie boards back in the 90s).

But you claim Behringer ripped off the Roland unit.

The 2 don't look ANYTHING alike-not even close. It is like saying a VW beetle looks like a Lamborghini so something

Yes they both have 4 wheels and an engine :) ---------------------------

 I am just trying to understand where you are coming from on this statement.

Maybe I am missing something.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Chris Nixon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: smaart I-O
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2015, 03:17:37 pm »



The 2 don't look ANYTHING alike-not even close.


You're right,  :) the one I have is actually the "Duo Capture EX".

Chris
Logged

eric lenasbunt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 864
    • Bunt Backline Event Services, LLC
Re: smaart I-O
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2015, 06:05:18 pm »


As much as I hate to admit it, the Behringer UMC202 works very well-no software-just plug it in and go.

That's what I use with no issues. Under $100, hard to beat.

*disclaimer, I am a Behringer dealer as well*
Logged

Bob Kidd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
Re: smaart I-O
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2015, 10:58:18 pm »

As much as I hate to admit it, the Behringer UMC202 works very well-no software-just plug it in and go.

Please forgive me if this is way off. I have a Mackie pro 8 with USB. I ran it to laptop and smaart sees it but shows left and right on input options. Regardless what I route through Mackie it comes through as one input. Does not show the separate pres. Thanks
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
smaart I-O
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2015, 08:54:18 pm »

I just bought a used octa-capture myself. Was seriously considering a focusrite Scarlett 18i8 or 6i6, just couldn't resist recallable pres on the octa-capture, though I really don't need them.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2015, 08:57:20 pm by Samuel Rees »
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1711
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: smaart I-O
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2015, 09:55:56 pm »

I just bought a used octa-capture myself. Was seriously considering a focusrite Scarlett 18i8 or 6i6, just couldn't resist recallable pres on the octa-capture, though I really don't need them.

I picked up the octa-capture a year or two back.   The digital gain on the pres were the selling point for me as well.   Now if I could find a smaller 2in-2out with the same digital gain setup for under $200, that would be great!  The octa is just a little hefty.
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
smaart I-O
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2015, 09:57:50 pm »

You might be able to pull off a used focusrite forte or avid/apogee duo for close to that. But options are thin for sure! I wanted to use 2-3 measurement mics plus loop back so that requires 3+. Otherwise I would have looked for a used Forte. Specs are better than everything I've seen in its class.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

smaart I-O
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2015, 09:57:50 pm »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.052 seconds with 25 queries.