ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: My disappointing evening as an audience member last night  (Read 18549 times)

Debbie Dunkley

• Central North Carolina
Re: My disappointing evening as an audience member last night
« Reply #20 on: July 20, 2015, 03:41:44 PM »

I have been using backing tracks in one form or another for almost 30 years. Many years ago, we had a trio using drum backing on cassette tapes - we couldn't afford any other way to do it - even if midi was around then.
Over the years, we used sequencers for drums and keys replacing the technology as it became available till we got to DAW…..so I have used and enjoyed backing tracks for many years. 
Trust me - I am not against using backing tracks. What I hate though is when a band is completely reliant on them and without them could not function. Adding the odd keyboard part makes perfect sense to me because there isn't enough money in bar work to feed too many mouths and 3 and 4 piece bands can go out with a full sound without having to hire an extra musician.
Having said that - there is nothing better than listening to 4 or 5 guys who can play well and with confidence who do not NEED backing tracks to get to where they want to be musically.
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

John L Nobile

« Reply #21 on: July 20, 2015, 03:49:05 PM »

Economics has forced us to use trax. We went from a 7 piece band with me playing keyboards on stage to a trio with me mixing and playing back my parts from a computer. Then we went to just a guitar player, then we added a bass player and this year we got a drummer back.
Personally, I don't like to see a band with backing trax but I don't mind if it's in a show situation with dancers and performer/vocalists. Which is what we do.