ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Can I plug a mixer into a mixer for the effects?  (Read 14580 times)

Scott Holtzman

• Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Can I plug a mixer into a mixer for the effects?
« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2015, 01:43:20 AM »

I'm far from even being considered a pro sr guy, but a pro wouldn't Mcgyver what he had available?

No gates, no comps, not a pro. Just a guy coming to a forum looking to see what others would say. I've never claimed to anyone,  be it here or to customers that I was a pro sr guy. Customer asked me if I could provide abc and I said yes. Everything I promised is covered and then some. Been tinkering with my new toys since they cane in and thought "hey, wonder if I could do xyz?"

I never said their souund guy has pos gear patched together. Shr/he could do an excellent job in providing sr work. If he showed up drunk, not dressed well, hittin on guests, etc etc etc..in my book he would have done a crappy job.

If you are accepting money that makes you a professional.  Just like putting "pro" on a product does not increase the quality.

It is indeed true that a good sound guy can make a turd sing if he has to. 

To me gates/comps are not exotic or high end gear.  Really good comp/gates are available in the secondary market (quad units usually) for $50.00.  For $120 you can cover drums and vocals.  Having those mics open all the time makes your life (and noise floor) more difficult.

Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Joseph Ugalino

« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2015, 04:02:47 AM »

If you are accepting money that makes you a professional.  Just like putting "pro" on a product does not increase the quality.

It is indeed true that a good sound guy can make a turd sing if he has to.