ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17]   Go Down

Author Topic: When to use line array or not?  (Read 33642 times)

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8933
  • Atlanta GA
Re: When to use line array or not?
« Reply #160 on: May 21, 2015, 01:05:47 pm »

Yes, there is a LOT of great information being shared here. But, the OP has probably LONG since checked out of this thread. It's been- what-- 8 pages since anything came up REMOTELY directly relevant to why a company, "In The Real World" would make a decision to use a line array rig as opposed to a point source?

I mean, really. The OP wanted to learn about the main deciding factors in choosing a system format to cover a particular area. And yes, the basic answer is "It Depends." But, rather then give some specific examples, i.e. "We were faced with this venue, and here were the mitigating factors that led us to spec a PS rig," or "the client wanted quick and easy, but once we realized *these factors* we were forced to conclude we couldn't do it with a PS rig, and suggested to the client that, for optimal performance given our venue and budget parameters, a line array would be best" -- the thread digressed into design and application backend. Great info, sure, but not what the OP wanted, and I think we did him a disservice...

-Ray
Many people post here simply wanting "validation" of what they plan on doing is correct.

And they don't like it when people tell them it is a bad idea.

That has happened very many times over the years.

As with any purchase, there are several things to consider.

One is the actual performance side-and whether or not that matters-and how much.

The other is the economic side.  Does it make sense to the pocket book.  Either for business reasons or "return on investement" or if buying personally, is it worth it?

Personally, I think a lot of those questions have been answered in this thread.  ANd they have been looked at from different angles.

As with most things-there is no simple answer.  There are a lot of variables that mean different things to different people.

So what is right for one person is wrong for another.

Hence the reason to see different peoples reasons and approaches to the "solution", so somebody can make up their own mind.

If they are not educated-how can they make a proper decision?

As the mens store says "An educated consumer is our best customer".

I agree :)
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1711
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: When to use line array or not?
« Reply #161 on: May 21, 2015, 01:16:20 pm »

I think we're done here, next topic please... ;-)

Thanks everyone.
Logged
"It's got electrolytes.  It's got what plants crave."

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: When to use line array or not?
« Reply #161 on: May 21, 2015, 01:16:20 pm »


Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.048 seconds with 24 queries.