ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?  (Read 3988 times)

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1347
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2015, 10:56:03 am »

Yes but also consider the second one on the chain because if you move from 5 on on and 3 on the others, you may need to do 4 on the second on in the chain because it has two others added to it.
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3285
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2015, 11:35:27 am »

I would put a 5A fuse in all of them*  If there is a problem, it will blow.

* Note - that is what I would do and should not be taken as advice!!


Steve.
Logged

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5276
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2015, 12:06:33 pm »

Yes that is what I meant- replace the fuses to 5amp in ALL the fixtures linked together. However, at this point I'll just link them in pairs on the 3 amp fuses till I get around to grabbing some 5 amp fuses.







Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5276
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2015, 02:20:00 pm »

One last thing- a shout out to Bruce at Blizzard for getting back to me so quickly and explaining what my problem was. Tried getting help with Chauvet a couple of times a few years back and I'll just say the end  result wasn't as successful.
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

duane massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1572
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2015, 12:23:31 am »

Makes perfect sense, but I am surprised they link the power through the fuses. I'll have to check some other brands to see if this is common practice.
Logged
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

Mark Cadwallader

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1332
  • Helena, Montana USA
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2015, 12:39:46 am »

The Blizzard user manuals I have looked at include a specification as to the number of identical fixtures that can be "daisy chained" at 120 volts, 208 volts, and 240 volts AC mains.  IIRC, it varies by model.
Logged
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Jeff Carter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Kitchener, ON, Canada
Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2015, 10:44:40 am »

Makes perfect sense, but I am surprised they link the power through the fuses. I'll have to check some other brands to see if this is common practice.

They probably can't make any assumptions about fuse/breaker protection of anything connected downstream, so if the link's not protected with a fuse I think it would need to be able to handle the 15A necessary to trip the circuit breaker upstream.
Logged
Mothers, don't let your babies grow up to be physics PhDs

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Blowing fuses - does this make sense?
« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2015, 10:44:40 am »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.056 seconds with 23 queries.