ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: power amp power source questions  (Read 3621 times)

Jeremy Young

• Brown Bear Sound
power amp power source questions
« on: April 16, 2015, 12:52:05 AM »

Hello folks.  I have some electrical questions below.  I want to preface by saying that I live in Canada, I am not an electrician, and i won't hold anyone liable for any guidance they give me.  i will consult an electrician for the execution of my plans, but i'm at the brainstorming stage and i trust everyone's experience on here for the context of my needs.

I just bought some new power amps (yay).  one of them came with a 20a power cord, which won't plug into anything i have (boo).  The amp is a Crest Prolite 7.5 and i'm currently only using one channel of it on a 4-ohm load for the subwoofer i own (EAW FR250z).  my plan was to use this for my sub for now, until my next buying spree (new subs) where i can use it in stereo with 4-ohm loads per channel.  i understand that although the fancy silkscreening on the amp says it's a "professional 7500w power amplifier" that it's not actually drawing 7,500 watts all the time, or hardly ever (signal level and dynamic range affecting this of course). 

many of the venues i frequent only have 15a type receptacles (nema 5-15), and i'm starting to get concerned about being able to plug this thing in anywhere i go.  i've built a temporary adapter just so i can test the amp at low volumes, using a 14ga wire into a nema 5-20 receptacle. at first i thought 12a would be a  better choice for the 20a load, but realizing that the upstream cable is likely 14a since it's a 15a breaker, this didn't seem pressing for my needs at the time.  however, i want to make a more permanent solution to my problem before gigging with the new amp.