ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Digital Mixing Desk advice  (Read 4872 times)

Darren Aitcheson

Re: Digital Mixing Desk advice
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2015, 07:50:42 am »

He then just said that the mixer was a very worn out and also deteriorating analogue model which is struggling to work properly.

Does the pastor know this from speaking to those who operate it? It would probably be best for you to ask them yourself - and also speak to the band to get their opinions (and their requirements).

I'm not a pro, but as others have said, there's no point in getting a brand new mixer if your speakers are worn out or unsuitable. It'd be like putting lipstick on a pig.

Anthony_Svarcbergs

« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2015, 06:13:22 pm »

Nice area, spent some time near Burnie on my honeymoon a few years ago.  Unfortunately I can also see why you may struggle to find suitable professionals. May have to get someone across from Launceston or up from Hobart.

Unfortunately it sounds to me it may be time for a complete upgrade. Assuming limited funds and assuming the main issues are speaker related I would be looking at them first rather than the desk, as changing the desk will not fix the speaker issues. As noted by Michael this is one of those situations where fast cheap and of a decent quality is not possible.

Look forward to seeing some pictures.

Thanks everyone so far, I'm not a slacker lol just been very busy.... The photos did not come out nicely on the weekend so I am going to pop in to the church today or tomorrow and post them ASAP.