ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: SMPTE recorder  (Read 3871 times)

umberto.menon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
SMPTE recorder
« on: April 04, 2015, 03:27:49 am »

Hello everybody! I'm new to this forum, I registered a few minutes ago.
I'd need some help with SMPTE tracks.

Is there any specific (possibly free and for OS) software to record SMPTE signal over MP3 / WAV / AIFF tracks?
Thanx for letting me know
Have a nice day

Umberto
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6576
  • Audio Plumber
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2015, 10:12:36 am »

Hello everybody! I'm new to this forum, I registered a few minutes ago.
I'd need some help with SMPTE tracks.

Is there any specific (possibly free and for OS) software to record SMPTE signal over MP3 / WAV / AIFF tracks?
Thanx for letting me know
Have a nice day

Umberto

What is it that you are trying to accomplish?

Mac
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
    • Check Check One Two
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2015, 11:03:20 am »

Anything can record LTC if that's the format you have your SMPTE output.

As Mac says, what are you trying to do?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

umberto.menon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2015, 01:08:34 am »

I have this device here

http://it.sgmlight.com/products/regia-2048-opera/c-23/p-174

which has SMPTE input, as you can see here:
http://www.solarisnetwork.com/product_listings/13375/99170533_xlarge.jpg

As I am touring with a show, I am trying to obtain audio tracks with SMPTE signal so that my lighting controller
knows automatically when to trigger a new cue.
I simply need to go play from my computer, and the audio signal merged with SMPTE signal automatically triggers cue.
Of course I need to pre-record SMPTE on audio tracks, and I am looking for a software which allows me to do this.

Thank you all in advance for your help
Logged

John L Nobile

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1782
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2015, 01:21:59 am »

I have this device here

http://it.sgmlight.com/products/regia-2048-opera/c-23/p-174

which has SMPTE input, as you can see here:
http://www.solarisnetwork.com/product_listings/13375/99170533_xlarge.jpg

As I am touring with a show, I am trying to obtain audio tracks with SMPTE signal so that my lighting controller
knows automatically when to trigger a new cue.
I simply need to go play from my computer, and the audio signal merged with SMPTE signal automatically triggers cue.
Of course I need to pre-record SMPTE on audio tracks, and I am looking for a software which allows me to do this.

Thank you all in advance for your help

Can you use midi? I trigger a grand MA on PC with midi. If you do need SMPTE, MOTU makes a few midi interfaces that will write it. I'm looking to get a MOTU Micro Express next month. That would do it.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
    • Check Check One Two
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2015, 08:31:06 am »

As I am touring with a show, I am trying to obtain audio tracks with SMPTE signal so that my lighting controller
knows automatically when to trigger a new cue.
I simply need to go play from my computer, and the audio signal merged with SMPTE signal automatically triggers cue.
Of course I need to pre-record SMPTE on audio tracks, and I am looking for a software which allows me to do this.

Thank you all in advance for your help
Reaper can do this.
Look up "SMPTE Generator" in the manual.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

umberto.menon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2015, 10:22:10 am »

Reaper can do this.
Look up "SMPTE Generator" in the manual.

have you done this before?
i cannot get it to work...
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6576
  • Audio Plumber
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2015, 11:00:38 am »

I simply need to go play from my computer, and the audio signal merged with SMPTE signal automatically triggers cue.
Of course I need to pre-record SMPTE on audio tracks, and I am looking for a software which allows me to do this.

QLab, or pretty much any audio software that lets you record channels independently will work. QLab, being show playback oriented may be most flexible for you.

Mac
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
    • Check Check One Two
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2015, 12:34:21 pm »


have you done this before?
i cannot get it to work...
Yes. See page 402 of the manual.
What issue are you having?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
    • Check Check One Two
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2015, 12:35:44 pm »


QLab, or pretty much any audio software that lets you record channels independently will work. QLab, being show playback oriented may be most flexible for you.

Mac
Can Qlab generate LTC or MTC?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6576
  • Audio Plumber
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2015, 12:40:43 pm »

Can Qlab generate LTC or MTC?

It can't generate that I know of, but it is multitrack, so you can record a TC track and add it to any file.

I haven't used it for TC, but I have had things like reverb run on a separate track. No reason it couldn't be TC.

Mac
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
    • Check Check One Two
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2015, 12:59:08 pm »

I think the OP mis spoke, and is actually looking for a SMPTE generator rather than recorder. I may be wrong, but at least Reaper can do both.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1269
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2015, 04:40:20 pm »

FL Studio can do this.  I use MTC generated by FL Studio to fire cues on my ETC Congo Kid all the time.  Though I've never really played with SMPTE, I see no reason why you couldn't drop a SMPTE track into the playback mixer and run that out a suitable interface.  I'd try it myself and report back but none of my consoles support SMPTE without an interface (that I don't have).  MTC has always fit my needs!
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: SMPTE recorder
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2015, 04:40:20 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.037 seconds with 24 queries.