ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Simple Generator Grounding Info  (Read 7858 times)

jason misterka

Simple Generator Grounding Info
« on: April 08, 2015, 09:39:52 PM »

Hello Folks -

I searched a bit and read some but this is a timely issue and we are quite up to our ears right now.

We have an event at one of the Universities that we work at on a regular basis.  The location of this event requires a 45KW generator to power PA.  I have a good bit of experience using generators at festivals (typically with the assistance of a licensed electrician) but I am no expert on all things electrical and electrical theory.

My understanding was that it is proper to ground the generator with a grounding rod and wire.  From my understanding of the situation (from many years of discussions with others in the production business) this is the best operating practice and is appropriate.

The issue I am having is that the head electrician of this University, whom I have had many conversations with for years and hold in quite high regard, has been resistant to us using a grounding rod.  The generator needs to be placed in an area with a lot of underground electrical and telecom, as well as a buried sprinkler system.

However his reason is not logistical.  He has determined that it is unnecessary.

He did eventually give in, and went the extra mile to drive a rod in an appropriate location, with the wire coiled up inside a quazite box to be used each year.  So, I do have a ground now. 

However, I would like to get to the bottom of this for once and for all.  I have been making this same argument for years now I feel like a broken record.  Half the time I have to bring my own grounding rod because many generator rental companies refuse to do it.