ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DMX Software Question - Upgrade time - What do you use? Fit my needs?  (Read 5140 times)

Jerome Casinger

• Castle Rock DJ and Sound

I have went through the last 12 pages on the forums but didn't quite find what I am looking for and appreciate help since this is not my area by any means.  So Bottom line - I used to have a robust lighting rig, moving heads etc - 8 years ago.  But I am a Sound guy by trade and all this new lighting software and hardware, LED's etc has found me a little "out dated" with where technology is at now.

However - my market is slowing pushing my lighting rig to grow.  I have 12 RGBAW that will be here tomorrow.  I have some Blizzard PROPars that are going on the Market and a couple RokBox's I am undecided on keeping.

My old large rig - I had Elation Compulive - I liked it to run the moving heads, click some options and they "looked pretty" (all bar band type stuff, not programming a bunch before hand).  What I didn't like it wasn't real conducive to live light shows (seemed more for programming scenes prior etc, no master fader time control etc, had to be all set up prior, sucked for on the fly adjustments).

The light rig now is going to go out just once or twice a month, and is all LED's.  However my current rig has a smaller standard 24 channel board, so I had to obviously run lights addressed the same which I don't like.  I am purchasing more lights, so its time for an upgrade.

What I would like  $500 or less (don't want to spend money for extra features I will never use, $500 is the most I can do since I just bought all new lights, good or bad, it was a great deal so lights came first) -