ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: qsc pld4.5  (Read 9151 times)

shelby hoyl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
qsc pld4.5
« on: February 16, 2015, 05:44:48 am »

I just got the qsc pld4.5 this week, and have had only one gig with it . but my experience with it has been a good one so far. the first 2 ch i used to run a pair of sound bridge s3. the amp put out a nice clean crisp sound for the highs. the other 2 ch i used on a pair of jbl sr4719x. usually i run the subs with a Mackie 2500 amp bridge @ 4 ohm to each sub, and they hit hard. so i was a little disappointed when i was at the gig. the qsc pld4.5 did not hit as hard as the Mackie's amps would have. but that being said the subs still but out more bass than those kids where used to. i'm still in the experimental phase with this amp and will try different configurations with this amp at home and at other gigs, and i will get back to y'all. fill free to ask me any questions.
Logged

Ben Heavenrich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 02:29:29 pm »

I just got the qsc pld4.5 this week, and have had only one gig with it . but my experience with it has been a good one so far. the first 2 ch i used to run a pair of sound bridge s3. the amp put out a nice clean crisp sound for the highs. the other 2 ch i used on a pair of jbl sr4719x. usually i run the subs with a Mackie 2500 amp bridge @ 4 ohm to each sub, and they hit hard. so i was a little disappointed when i was at the gig. the qsc pld4.5 did not hit as hard as the Mackie's amps would have. but that being said the subs still but out more bass than those kids where used to. i'm still in the experimental phase with this amp and will try different configurations with this amp at home and at other gigs, and i will get back to y'all. fill free to ask me any questions.

I don't think that amp would be efficient for powering subwoofers, as you would have to bridge at least two channels to get real power out of it. Which takes away from the point of a 4 channel amplifier. I think you're better off using that amp to power 2 tops  biamped, or two tops and monitors, etc. For the subs I'd look into the QSC PL380, that is really the only amp QSC makes that will do those subs justice. More power the better for subs!
Logged

shelby hoyl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 12:59:52 pm »

I don't think that amp would be efficient for powering subwoofers, as you would have to bridge at least two channels to get real power out of it. Which takes away from the point of a 4 channel amplifier. I think you're better off using that amp to power 2 tops  biamped, or two tops and monitors, etc. For the subs I'd look into the QSC PL380, that is really the only amp QSC makes that will do those subs justice. More power the better for subs!


The reason i bought it was for the versatility of the amp. The point of this amp is to have whatever i need on whatever gig i have. i did look into the qsc pl380, the price of that amp is higher there is no d.s.p and it looks to me like the power output is about the same as the 4.5
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 02:51:48 pm by shelby hoyl »
Logged

shelby hoyl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 03:01:41 pm »

this is my 3rd gig with this amp. so far so good.
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 03:11:14 pm »

Please don't tell me you've got your power amp plugged into a "power conditioner"...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

shelby hoyl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2015, 08:44:05 pm »

Please don't tell me you've got your power amp plugged into a "power conditioner"...

yes, why do you ask?
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 09:24:22 pm »

Please don't tell me you've got your power amp plugged into a "power conditioner"...
yes, why do you ask?

1.  You don't need it and

2.   It can cause problems.

For example, if your power strip is rated for 15 amps and your amp can draw 20 for full output, you'll either starve the amp or trip the breaker/blow a fuse.

Standard practice is to avoid such units for your amps.  They are of questionable benefit in any case.
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2206
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2015, 01:43:33 am »

1.  You don't need it and

2.   It can cause problems.

For example, if your power strip is rated for 15 amps and your amp can draw 20 for full output, you'll either starve the amp or trip the breaker/blow a fuse.

Standard practice is to avoid such units for your amps.  They are of questionable benefit in any case.



There's two things that power conditioners are good for: Convenient  outlets, and pull-out lights.

I wish they would just do those two things and spare me the expense of "conditioning" my power....
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

George Dougherty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 724
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2015, 11:59:25 am »



There's two things that power conditioners are good for: Convenient  outlets, and pull-out lights.

I wish they would just do those two things and spare me the expense of "conditioning" my power....

Those are called rack mount power distribution units  or PDU. They usually are breakered but without any of the filtering.
Logged

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1695
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2015, 12:50:32 pm »

Those are called rack mount power distribution units  or PDU. They usually are breakered but without any of the filtering.

Thank you. These devices are not "power conditioners".
Logged
"It's got electrolytes.  It's got what plants crave."

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2206
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2015, 02:48:52 pm »

Those are called rack mount power distribution units  or PDU. They usually are breakered but without any of the filtering.



Well, I guess my attempts at humor went unnoticed again.... /sarcasm




Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 661
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2015, 03:31:23 pm »

How is the PLD4.5 holding up?
Been a while since you posted the thread, figured I'd ask now that you probably have some mileage on the amp.
Thanks!



I just got the qsc pld4.5 this week, and have had only one gig with it . but my experience with it has been a good one so far. the first 2 ch i used to run a pair of sound bridge s3. the amp put out a nice clean crisp sound for the highs. the other 2 ch i used on a pair of jbl sr4719x. usually i run the subs with a Mackie 2500 amp bridge @ 4 ohm to each sub, and they hit hard. so i was a little disappointed when i was at the gig. the qsc pld4.5 did not hit as hard as the Mackie's amps would have. but that being said the subs still but out more bass than those kids where used to. i'm still in the experimental phase with this amp and will try different configurations with this amp at home and at other gigs, and i will get back to y'all. fill free to ask me any questions.
Logged

Chuck Simon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2015, 09:55:47 am »

How is the PLD4.5 holding up?
Been a while since you posted the thread, figured I'd ask now that you probably have some mileage on the amp.
Thanks!

Yes, I am considering one of them and would be interested in your experience.
Logged

brian casterlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: qsc pld4.5
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2015, 02:31:19 am »

Yes, I am considering one of them and would be interested in your experience.

I have a 4.2 I bought just to see how I like the series Nice very flexible settings.  I only  use this 4.2 for acoustic gigs since its relatively low power and won't run any of my SRX cabs unless I run it single or 2 channel
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.031 seconds with 23 queries.