ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Which Mixer would you buy? why?  (Read 26626 times)

Randall Hyde

Re: Which Mixer would you buy? why?
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2011, 01:10:51 PM »

I can get the DIY approach. It would have been cooler if he had written SAC for Linux, then it would truly be an open source mixing platform.
As SAC is not open source, I really don't see the benefit of doing it under Linux.

The problem with Linux (which I understand all too well, my day job is a software engineer developing nuclear reactor control software under Linux) is that device drivers just aren't there. Under Windows, products like the RME RayDat board have *excellent* drivers under Windows. Such strong support is not available under Linux. Case in point: I use a Sensoray Model 626 digtal/analog board in a console I've written software for. The Linux drivers are for the 2.4 kernel only. Same issue exists in the sound world. The *few* manufacturers that support Linux tend to update the Linux code far less frequently.

Maybe then I could get into it. But if you use hardware other than the cheap shit by Behringer, you're still looking at something in line with an M7 or SC48 (or more perhaps).
Personally, I'd never put Behringer in the audio chain. Even if the audio quality is okay (and by most accounts, the ADA8K does an okay job on the audio), there are quality/reliability and rider issues; even at the ankle-biter level, you don't want to be bringing a lot of Behringer gear with you to a gig, especially if it's in the audio chain.

I'm willing to live with Behringer BCF/BCR-2000 control surfaces until I can put something custom together for my needs (though I'll probably build something around the Mackie MCU units for FOH, just so the Behringer nameplate isn't out there, leave the Behringer gear for monitor world).