ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Wiring A Stage For AC Power  (Read 10659 times)

Mark Cadwallader

• Helena, Montana USA
Re: Wiring A Stage For AC Power
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2015, 08:07:38 PM »

+1

I know none of the inspectors I deal with would allow SO or SJ cable for this use.  Since this is a "place of assembly", the NEC only permits metallic raceway/cable wiring methods.  The main issue being smoke generation if a fire does start.

If the issue is money, ask your contractor.  As a contractor, I would rather (especially with non-profits) supervise a couple of volunteers than have someone come in after the install and hack the install-imo, better to do that than wind up trying to prove who did what.  (That may not be possible everywhere-inspectors in my area are generally easy to work with and more interested that the job is supervised and done right than in who has a license and who does not-there are provisions here for "unclassified" persons so we can usually fudge a bit.

Just to make sure I understand, you are saying that SO or SJ would not be allowed to be placed in conduit as part of a permanent installation. SO or SJ cable would be required for "portable" uses such as in a stage stringer, but a special type of strain relief attachments (a gland-type attachment) are necessary.  Do I have that right?  Mark C.
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2015, 08:17:48 PM »

Just to make sure I understand, you are saying that SO or SJ would not be allowed to be placed in conduit as part of a permanent installation. SO or SJ cable would be required for "portable" uses such as in a stage stringer, but a special type of strain relief attachments (a gland-type attachment) are necessary.  Do I have that right?  Mark C.