ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha CL max capacity  (Read 6447 times)

Daniel Wade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Yamaha CL max capacity
« on: November 26, 2014, 12:15:56 am »

Hello,
I'm doing research on Yamaha CL5 console and haven't found the answer to a question.  I would like to mix monitors from FOH and want the ability to modify the signal to the monitors (EQ mostly) differently than the FOH sound.  Easy answer - get a dedicated monitor board.  I get this but what about just a few channels?

On the CL one can duplicate/patch an input to multiple channels.  Anyone know if duplicating the input to multiple channels affects the maximum mix capacity?

Thanks.
Daniel
Logged

Frederik RosenkjŠr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 475
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2014, 02:51:08 am »

Most digital consoles, including the CL, can do this no problem. It doesn't make any difference to the mix capacity other than taking up an extra channel for each channel you want to have separate control of the monitors, even though both channels are using the same input.
Logged
Affiliations: Danley Sound Labs, Yamaha (MI)

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1603
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2014, 09:13:39 am »

Double-patching inputs is the second-oldest trick in the book. You're only using up input channels, not mixes or outputs.
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2561
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2014, 09:18:51 am »

Double-patching inputs is the second-oldest trick in the book. You're only using up input channels, not mixes or outputs.

The first oldest is turning the knob on an unpatched channel while looking expectantly at the singer. "How's that?  Better?  Good!"
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6870
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2014, 11:40:24 am »

Hello,
I'm doing research on Yamaha CL5 console and haven't found the answer to a question.  I would like to mix monitors from FOH and want the ability to modify the signal to the monitors (EQ mostly) differently than the FOH sound.  Easy answer - get a dedicated monitor board.  I get this but what about just a few channels?

On the CL one can duplicate/patch an input to multiple channels.  Anyone know if duplicating the input to multiple channels affects the maximum mix capacity?

Thanks.
Daniel

Your post never asks the question in the subject line, but in addition to the fact that however many input channels you use it does not affect any of the other capabilities of the console, on a CL-5 you have a maximum of 72 mono input control channels, 8 stereo input control channels (88 audio input paths), and using the matrixes as mixes, 32 aux sends plus stereo and mono outs. A CL-3 reduces the mono inputs to 64, and a CL-1 reduces them to 48, all other features are the same.

Mac
Logged

Daniel Wade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2014, 12:00:37 pm »

The first oldest is turning the knob on an unpatched channel while looking expectantly at the singer. "How's that?  Better?  Good!"

I love it! Amazing how it actually works so often.
Logged

Daniel Wade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2014, 12:19:18 pm »

Your post never asks the question in the subject line, but in addition to the fact that however many input channels you use it does not affect any of the other capabilities of the console, on a CL-5 you have a maximum of 72 mono input control channels, 8 stereo input control channels (88 audio input paths), and using the matrixes as mixes, 32 aux sends plus stereo and mono outs. A CL-3 reduces the mono inputs to 64, and a CL-1 reduces them to 48, all other features are the same.

Mac

Thanks all for the responses.  The "audio input paths" is the place of concern.  After reading more last night and thinking about this I thought it was a silly question.

I like the "32 aux send" statement - it makes more sense to me rather than figuring out the subtle differences between between a matrix use case versus a mix use case. 
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21499
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2014, 01:06:14 pm »

Thanks all for the responses.  The "audio input paths" is the place of concern.  After reading more last night and thinking about this I thought it was a silly question.

I like the "32 aux send" statement - it makes more sense to me rather than figuring out the subtle differences between between a matrix use case versus a mix use case.

You need to understand the not-so-subtle differences between matrices and mix sends.  Yamaha and a couple other manufacturers allow inputs to be routed directly to a matrix, giving you the capability to use that matrix as a mix send.  More traditional implementations of matrices have a matrix get its inputs from other mixes (L/R, "groups" or "submasters" etc).  This can be powerful routing and processing facility, but it's not like using matrices as "aux" mix sends.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2518
  • back home in Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2014, 03:33:06 pm »

You need to understand the not-so-subtle differences between matrices and mix sends.  Yamaha and a couple other manufacturers allow inputs to be routed directly to a matrix, giving you the capability to use that matrix as a mix send.  More traditional implementations of matrices have a matrix get its inputs from other mixes (L/R, "groups" or "submasters" etc).  This can be powerful routing and processing facility, but it's not like using matrices as "aux" mix sends.


Don't forget that when you send an input channel to a matrix, that it is only post fader, and can not be switched to pre fader like normal aux sends (at least on the CL5).

Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Daniel Wade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2014, 06:19:56 pm »


Don't forget that when you send an input channel to a matrix, that it is only post fader, and can not be switched to pre fader like normal aux sends (at least on the CL5).

Hi Justice,
According to the CL Editor, the "Send Point for Input Channels" is PRE-EQ or PRE-Fader.  I don't have CL in front of me to try this.  I think this means there is no option to send post fader from any source (mix, LR, M or input).  Is the actual behavior on the CL5 different?

This makes using an input in the matrix less usable to me as I think I would generally want all inputs to the matrix (outputs from other sources) to be post fader.

Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha CL max capacity
┬ź Reply #9 on: November 26, 2014, 06:19:56 pm ┬╗


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.045 seconds with 22 queries.