ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Small.... Cheap.....Decent?  (Read 5517 times)

Scott Slaughter

Small.... Cheap.....Decent?
« on: February 08, 2015, 09:53:42 PM »

OK.... let me bore you with the set up, so if anybody hangs around long enough to read it - they'll have a good frame of reference....
     I am a musician first, soundman a distant second.  Stuck with it sometimes when there is no budget for a real pro.   I love great gear.  I have spent what little I have on really good gear as a keyboard player, which gets pricey AND as an ac. guitarist, which adds up too.   Also - my "van" is a Subaru Outback.   One of my band mates has always transported the subwoofer end of my little rig which consists of 2 Yamaha DSR 112s and one (although I own two - we just can't fit another into his Outback with his gear) older Klipsch 15" passive sub, powered by one side of a Crest CA-9.  The rig sounds real nice, though the sub can't keep up when things get pushed.
    Now.... his Outback died and was forced to acquire an even smaller car and cannot fit the sub.
SO....   I am trying with almost zero budget to see what I can come up with for a solution.  I'm thinking of selling the two subs and the Crest amp for peanuts and maybe coming up with money to buy one Yamaha DSX12. (I'm pretty sure the DSX15 is too big)   I'm a little afraid that this will be even less bottom.  Am I wrong?   With this rig, I'm typically working small clubs of 80 people or less or small ballrooms with maybe 100 - 120.  If one of my acts plays a bigger gig (and they do) I will insist on hiring a pro.
    The sub in this smaller scenario will only be handling some backing tracks, or maybe a bit of live kick drum and a bleed of bass and keys.   No slamming house or hip hop.