ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Behringer x32 vs Soundcraft SI Performer 2  (Read 40505 times)

Rob Spence

• Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Behringer x32 vs Soundcraft SI Performer 2
« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2014, 02:58:56 PM »

With the X32s that I owned once I was running a higher channel count they started getting sluggish and the sound quality seemed to get degraded. Almost like more digital sounding not as clear and clean as it is with less channels used. I also had a few guest engineers hear it and thought is was the DSP power of the board being maxed out. I'm not an engineer and maybe DSP is the wrong word. I just know I have never had my Si's act sluggish or sound different because I was running high channel count. Not trying to start a war or disagree with your thoughts.

Ok, devils advocate here... Explain how the mixer knows how many channels you are using? Quiet is as much a valid sound it needs to process as is loud. It takes the same work for the computer (DSP).

What may be, is with many channels into a mix bus, the summing may not be a clean. This was true in the analog mixer world too. High end consoles did a better job of it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Jamin Lynch

• Corpus Christi, TX.
« Reply #21 on: November 14, 2014, 06:46:07 PM »