ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Why do we need this?  (Read 26960 times)

John Livings

• Los Angeles, California
Re: Why do we need this?
« Reply #30 on: February 07, 2011, 03:47:21 PM »

I think it is a great idea for the DJs to contribute to this Forum.

At the High End, A lot of the same things are happening,
(Minus most of the Drama)

Just my thoughts.

Regards,  John

DaveSlater

« Reply #31 on: February 07, 2011, 07:45:14 PM »

Well I've been a DJ since '97 and after building my own rig to power my club night I've been an engineer by default since 2002
I've been registered on the old board since 2004 and a union card touting freelancer since 2007

Am I welcome here or not?

The point is I, like a lot before and after me, found my way here as I was interested in the technical side of the matter because I wanted to improve the sound I delivered to my punters

I recognised that would take knowledge to accomplish and it was knowledge I didn't have

So I ask you, if you wanted to learn about Jewellery would you go to a Carpenter?

No of course you wouldn't and similarly I wouldn't want to take advice on sound from people who haven't got a proven track record which is why I ended up on the LAB where all you pros hang out

What I have trouble with is the vitriol that is spouted towards DJ's when in essence they are just another musician

Whilst they might not physically make the notes mixing to records together in a musical style is a craft that has to be learnt and honed if they are to achieve the seamless flow of music that gets a crowd moving

There are just as many poor guitarists/vocalists/drummers out there who don't know their arse from their elbow when it comes to the technical side yet they never seem to get the daggers drawn so quickly compared to DJ's