Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Product Reviews

QSC Touchmix-16

<< < (2/3) > >>

Mike New:
I've been using the Touchmix-16 for a couple of years.  I'm a sound guy, use it for smaller gigs, and rely heavily on the ability to remotely manage my mixes from an iPad. I like this mixer very much and would agree with the other reviewers' positive comments. But there is one issue that would keep me from buying another:

No remote Gain adjustment. Musicians often have much more energy during performance than during sound check, so it's often necessary to turn down the gain well into a gig. This cannot be done remotely. I have to return to the stage to adjust gain. And as others have noted, it is also not possible to store Gain settings for different bands.

A couple of other minor complaints, but not as important as the Gain issue:

Inadequate Compressor user interface. The compressor itself seems to work well, but the static display (e.g no "bouncing ball") does not provide sufficient feedback to make real-time adjustments. The static display does show attack/release time, which is nice but not terribly useful during a performance. A dynamic compression meter does exist, but there are no db markings to show how much compression is occurring. Ideally I could just listen closely to hear the effects of compression, but noisy nightclub environments make this difficult.

Internal Router. I've also found the internal wireless access point to be weak, but the problem is easily solved with a small external router. I use a TP-Link Nano Router (about 2 inches square). I just plug it into the wall and set it next to the Touchmix, which auto-connects wirelessly. The Nano router fits in the Touchmix case and improves range dramatically.