ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Cerwin Vega P1800sx question(s)  (Read 11670 times)

walter potter

Cerwin Vega P1800sx question(s)
« on: September 15, 2014, 07:46:01 PM »

I'm somewhat new to powered PA systems, but, with that being said, I think I've got some pretty nice gear that I'm trying to upgrade......or at least figure out just what my options are.  Bottom line at this time is this:  I just acquired a pair of Yorkville Unity U15p speakers at a great price.  I own a Cerwin Vega P1800SX powered sub (pawn shop purchase for $200), and I'm wondering if the addition/purchase of a second P1800SX is a reasonable way to go to (pair up on each side as main FOH for our 5 piece classic rock band).  I've found one for $650 new.  We have various powered EVs and Mackies for our monitors.  Really trying to figure out the "correct" subs for the U15p mains.  Asked differently, is there a "correct" sub? 

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
Re: Cerwin Vega P1800sx question(s)
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 08:29:10 PM »

As per forum rules you MUST use your full real name or the thread will be locked and no body will respond until you do so.
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Art Welter

• Santa Fe, New Mexico
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2014, 03:55:54 PM »

I own a Cerwin Vega P1800SX powered sub (pawn shop purchase for $200), and I'm wondering if the addition/purchase of a second P1800SX is a reasonable way to go to (pair up on each side as main FOH for our 5 piece classic rock band).    Really trying to figure out the "correct" subs for the U15p mains.  Asked differently, is there a "correct" sub?
Walter,

If a sub has the frequency response you want, and gets loud enough without too much distortion for your needs, it is "correct".