ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?  (Read 2066 times)

Andrew Makinson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« on: September 15, 2014, 10:19:00 am »

I am wondering if there is a remote that can be programed to power on and off lots of different kinds of TVs?  Our church's foyer space has lots of displays from different manufacturers.  I want to turn them on before an event and off after an event.  I don't need any other control, just on/off.  Any suggestions?

P.S. Just found this in a google search.  Might work, but not ideal for different users.  http://viatekproducts.com/zmart-remote-pro/

Thanks!
Logged
--
Andrew Makinson
Grace Covenant Church
Chantilly, VA

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5518
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 12:11:37 pm »

I am wondering if there is a remote that can be programed to power on and off lots of different kinds of TVs?  Our church's foyer space has lots of displays from different manufacturers.  I want to turn them on before an event and off after an event.  I don't need any other control, just on/off.  Any suggestions?

P.S. Just found this in a google search.  Might work, but not ideal for different users.  http://viatekproducts.com/zmart-remote-pro/

Thanks!

Logitech Harmony
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Bryan Ward

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2014, 01:31:52 pm »

+1 for the Harmony.  They can be pricey though.

Might also want to look at this:
http://cornfieldelectronics.com/tvbgone/tvbg.home.php

You can build your own too:
https://learn.adafruit.com/tv-b-gone-kit
Logged

Andrew Makinson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2014, 02:10:31 pm »

+1 for the Harmony.  They can be pricey though.

Might also want to look at this:
http://cornfieldelectronics.com/tvbgone/tvbg.home.php

You can build your own too:
https://learn.adafruit.com/tv-b-gone-kit

Thanks!  I'm going to try this tvbgone.  If I don't have too much trouble with some TVs turning back on while trying to turn others off it should work great.
Logged
--
Andrew Makinson
Grace Covenant Church
Chantilly, VA

Jordan Wolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1351
  • Location: Collingswood, NJ
Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2014, 02:36:48 pm »

I am wondering if there is a remote that can be programed to power on and off lots of different kinds of TVs?
If it was one model, or even possibly the same manufacturer, you might be able to use the same remote.

Monitors (not televisions) are often able to be assigned a control ID, like a projector, so that multiple units will not receive the same signal when it's not desired.

You could also look into networking the TVs; wifi-capable TVs are great, and let you control things a little more centrally.
Logged
Jordan Wolf
<><

"We want our sound to go into the soul of the audience, and see if it can awaken some little thing in their minds... Cause there are so many sleeping people." - Jimi Hendrix

Lee Douglas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • 47.662615, -116.756954
Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2014, 06:13:45 pm »

You could use something like an RTI RK1+ keypad and an XP-6 processor with IR emitters at each monitor.  Program two executable macros (all on and all off) and assign each to a button.  I would run cat5 or better to each monitor.  You can use a single pair for IR but utilize it later for network control, should you go that route.
Logged
This space for rent

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: using 1 remote for on/off of different tvs?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2014, 06:13:45 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.111 seconds with 24 queries.