ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?  (Read 5665 times)

Jared Koopman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« on: September 13, 2014, 08:39:24 am »

Hi.

I have two 50ft 12/4 cables with quad edison boxes on one end. The other end is bare, can I safely put an edison plug on the end and use like that or do I have to use the 4 prong 20 amp plug?

Most of my setups use edison so I would prefer that if possible. I know I will lose the 2 circuits of the cable but honestly I don't care at this point, I just need it functional and safe.

Thanks
Jared
Logged

Mike Sokol

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3361
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 08:59:08 am »

Hi.

I have two 50ft 12/4 cables with quad edison boxes on one end. The other end is bare, can I safely put an edison plug on the end and use like that or do I have to use the 4 prong 20 amp plug?

Most of my setups use edison so I would prefer that if possible. I know I will lose the 2 circuits of the cable but honestly I don't care at this point, I just need it functional and safe.

Thanks
Jared

I would consider installing the proper twist-lock plugs on your cables (L 14-20?), then adding a NEMA 5-15 adapter for plugging into Edison outlets. That way you reduce your voltage drop by 33% (I think) over the run since you're using both legs of the extension cable, but with a common neutral. And then you can always use your quad boxes to plug into a 4-wire distro if you're in that situation.

See http://www.customavrack.com/products/988-5-15p-plug-adapters.aspx for every kind of adapter possible.

What do you wire monkeys think. Is this a reasonable solution? That's how I would do it and it appears to follow all code and UL requirements I can think of.
 
Logged
Mike Sokol
mike@noshockzone.org
www.NoShockZone.org

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4284
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2014, 01:01:25 pm »

Hi.

I have two 50ft 12/4 cables with quad edison boxes on one end. The other end is bare, can I safely put an edison plug on the end and use like that or do I have to use the 4 prong 20 amp plug?

Most of my setups use edison so I would prefer that if possible. I know I will lose the 2 circuits of the cable but honestly I don't care at this point, I just need it functional and safe.

Thanks
Jared
I would ignore the red wire and get 'er done.
Logged

Stephen Swaffer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2364
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2014, 02:27:27 pm »

If you ignore the red wire, you still need to rewire the quad-or only us it as a duplex.

Mike' suggestion is more flexible.

If you don't need flexibility, do as TJ suggests-but rewire the quad.  It might be tempting to just hook both red and black wires to the same terminal-might even be doable, but almost certainly wouldn't meet UL specs for the plug.
Logged
Steve Swaffer

Kemper Watson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 515
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2014, 08:30:29 am »

Hi.

I have two 50ft 12/4 cables with quad edison boxes on one end. The other end is bare, can I safely put an edison plug on the end and use like that or do I have to use the 4 prong 20 amp plug?

Most of my setups use edison so I would prefer that if possible. I know I will lose the 2 circuits of the cable but honestly I don't care at this point, I just need it functional and safe.

Thanks
Jared

How is the quad box wired? Sounds like it might have been a cheater tail, wired to a 4 wire dryer plug, or a L14-30.
Logged

Spenser Hamilton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 665
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2014, 09:43:20 am »


Hi.

I have two 50ft 12/4 cables with quad edison boxes on one end. The other end is bare, can I safely put an edison plug on the end and use like that or do I have to use the 4 prong 20 amp plug?

Most of my setups use edison so I would prefer that if possible. I know I will lose the 2 circuits of the cable but honestly I don't care at this point, I just need it functional and safe.

Thanks
Jared

As far as I can see there is two options.

A) terminate with L14-20.
B) remove and recycle the 12/4 for another use, replace with 12/3, terminate with u-ground.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Technical Director - Chatham Capitol Theatre/Kiwanis Theatre

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4284
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2014, 09:50:25 am »

As far as I can see there is two options.

A) terminate with L14-20.
B) remove and recycle the 12/4 for another use, replace with 12/3, terminate with u-ground.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Why replace the 12/4?
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21503
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2014, 10:12:29 am »

As far as I can see there is two options.

A) terminate with L14-20.
B) remove and recycle the 12/4 for another use, replace with 12/3, terminate with u-ground.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Put an Edison on the cord, using the green, white and black wires.  Re-wire the quad box so all outlets are fed from these conductors.  Enjoy a nice cup of coffee.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jared Koopman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2014, 10:14:49 am »

Put an Edison on the cord, using the green, white and black wires.  Re-wire the quad box so all outlets are fed from these conductors.  Enjoy a nice cup of coffee.

That is my plan. For now it will be fine. Once we start doing more with 3 phase I will switch it back over.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21503
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2014, 10:32:07 am »

That is my plan. For now it will be fine. Once we start doing more with 3 phase I will switch it back over.

You need 5 conductors for 3 phase.

To re-purpose this assembly later, you could use 2 hot legs from 3 phase, use a 20 amp 2 pole breaker, L14-20 connectors and re-wire the quad box so each duplex is supplied by 1 phase leg.  There are other implications that are sure to be posited, but low current applications (like back line) won't impose a significant contribution to neutral current.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Spenser Hamilton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 665
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2014, 04:36:01 pm »


Why replace the 12/4?

Unnecessary bulk?

The 12/4 would make good speaker cable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Technical Director - Chatham Capitol Theatre/Kiwanis Theatre

Jared Koopman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2014, 03:02:02 am »


I would consider installing the proper twist-lock plugs on your cables (L 14-20?), then adding a NEMA 5-15 adapter for plugging into Edison outlets. That way you reduce your voltage drop by 33% (I think) over the run since you're using both legs of the extension cable, but with a common neutral. And then you can always use your quad boxes to plug into a 4-wire distro if you're in that situation.

See http://www.customavrack.com/products/988-5-15p-plug-adapters.aspx for every kind of adapter possible.

What do you wire monkeys think. Is this a reasonable solution? That's how I would do it and it appears to follow all code and UL requirements I can think of.

So I put L14-20P's on each end.

Now my thought was to make a short adaptor cable with an Edison plug on one end that ties to only one leg (black, green, white in this case) of an L14-20R. I know this means I can only use one half of the quad but I can live with that.

My question is, if only one leg of the L14-20 is used (the black duplex in my case) and the neutral and ground are shared between the red and black duplex's, does this make the the red duplex "hot" and dangerous?


Logged

Stephen Swaffer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2364
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2014, 09:36:56 am »

No
Logged
Steve Swaffer

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3110
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2014, 01:10:44 pm »

Now my thought was to make a short adaptor cable with an Edison plug on one end that ties to only one leg (black, green, white in this case) of an L14-20R. I know this means I can only use one half of the quad but I can live with that.

In the female end of your adapter, if the terminals provide space for it*, you could run a jumper between the black and the red slots, then you'll be able to use both halves of the quad box. It will effectively make it as though there was no red wire, and the hot sides of the receptacles were jumpered just like the neutral sides (white wire). Think of it this way: instead of the jumper being in the quad box, it's in the female end of the adapter. The effect is the same.

*NOTE: You can only do the jumper if the terminal is either the kind that allows you to wrap the wire around the screw (a method not advised with stranded wire) or where you can insert a wire between plates on each side of the screw. The jumper should be the same gauge and stranding as the main conductor. Many connectors only allow a single wire inserted between the plates that are clamped together by the screw; there isn't a good way to jumper with this style. Under no circumstances should you split the strands of a single conductor between two terminals, as that could result in an overloaded conductor between the split and the terminals.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 01:13:22 pm by Jonathan Johnson »
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Jared Koopman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2014, 01:20:06 pm »

In the female end of your adapter, if the terminals provide space for it*, you could run a jumper between the black and the red slots, then you'll be able to use both halves of the quad box. It will effectively make it as though there was no red wire, and the hot sides of the receptacles were jumpered just like the neutral sides (white wire). Think of it this way: instead of the jumper being in the quad box, it's in the female end of the adapter. The effect is the same.

*NOTE: You can only do the jumper if the terminal is either the kind that allows you to wrap the wire around the screw (a method not advised with stranded wire) or where you can insert a wire between plates on each side of the screw. The jumper should be the same gauge and stranding as the main conductor. Many connectors only allow a single wire inserted between the plates that are clamped together by the screw; there isn't a good way to jumper with this style. Under no circumstances should you split the strands of a single conductor between two terminals, as that could result in an overloaded conductor between the split and the terminals.

Thank you that was my next question!

Jared
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Edison plug on 12/4 quad box?
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2014, 01:20:06 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.065 seconds with 22 queries.