ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Power from 2 buildings  (Read 4730 times)

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1883
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Power from 2 buildings
« on: August 31, 2014, 05:33:56 pm »

I have a small street party coming up in the downtown area. There will be a small stage and I'm sure power will be an issue. I was told the sound company last year ran extension cords and pulled power from one the buildings closest to the stage. But it was a really small set up. I'm brining something a little larger. I can do it with 3 20amp circuits. They said no generators.

My question is, would there be a potential problem if I got power from 2 different buildings? Since the stage will be in the middle of the street could I get power from buildings from opposite sides of the street if needed? What kinds of problems might come into play? What about ground issues?

Thanks
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

Stephen Swaffer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2014, 05:47:08 pm »

http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,150258.0.html

Check out this topic for a pretty thorough discussion from a few weeks ago.
Logged
Steve Swaffer

Jeff Bankston

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 07:15:13 pm »

no issue "IF" the same transformer powers both buildings. look at the power polls for transformer(s) and service drops or a transformer pad(s). if theres one transformer with a service drop to each building it will not be an issue. as long as your extensions cords have ground wire grounding is not an issue. you need to do a voltage drop caluculation to see what gauge cords to use.

i do not know if there will be a problem if they are fed from seperate transformers. its a question that needs the correct answer.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 07:23:54 pm by Jeff Harrell »
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2014, 07:53:54 pm »

They probably mean no LOUD  generators...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Jeff Bankston

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2014, 07:56:20 pm »

They probably mean no LOUD  generators...
i say boy , i say son , i say speakup boy i cant i say i cant hear ya son ! ole Foghorn Leghorn has a case of demented ya.
Logged

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1883
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2014, 08:56:06 am »

http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,150258.0.html

Check out this topic for a pretty thorough discussion from a few weeks ago.

OK I remember seeing this topic. I'll read through it.
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1883
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2014, 09:00:04 am »

They probably mean no LOUD  generators...

They said no generators due to all the pedestrian traffic. I told them I would barricade it off and post an armed guard...they still said no. I guess they have no problem with extension cords.

If there's not enough power available I'll have to scale back a bit.
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2014, 09:06:36 am »

They said no generators due to all the pedestrian traffic. I told them I would barricade it off and post an armed guard...they still said no. I guess they have no problem with extension cords.

If there's not enough power available I'll have to scale back a bit.

That's just stupid.  I've never seen anyone get their feet tangled in a generator...

At some point you have to take the bull(shit) by the horns and not let the idiots tell you how to do your job when the issue involves safety.  I've gone to using my Honda EU3000i for any jobs where I would have to use long cable runs across public space to get to building power.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2014, 09:10:12 am by dick rees »
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3417
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2014, 09:29:35 am »

Hire enough cable ramps to ramp off the AC feeds, at their expense, of course?

-Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1883
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2014, 09:31:23 am »

That's just stupid.  I've never seen anyone get their feet tangled in a generator...

At some point you have to take the bull(shit) by the horns and not let the idiots tell you how to do your job when the issue involves safety.  I've gone to using my Honda EU3000i for any jobs where I would have to use long cable runs across public space to get to building power.

I agree Dick. When I mentioned the all problems with running extension cords I get the typical response. "That's what the other sound guys did last year."

Damn ankle biters.
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Power from 2 buildings
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2014, 09:31:23 am »


Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.061 seconds with 24 queries.